Skip to content
Home » Nail Tech Schools Near You » Nail Tech Schools in West Virginia

Nail Tech Schools in West Virginia

For anyone considering a career in nail technology, West Virginia is an excellent choice. The state offers a wide variety of opportunities for nail technicians, from high-end salons to more budget-friendly options. In addition, the weather in West Virginia is ideal for keeping nails healthy and strong year-round. And with so many beautiful locations to explore, working as a nail technician in West Virginia can be both exciting and rewarding. This site is a wonderful resource for people considering this career as we have details on how to become a nail technician and listings to help you find a nail tech school near you in West Virginia.

Nail Tech Schools in West Virginia

State Requirements for Nail Technician Licensing in West Virginia

  • Eighteen (18) years old or above.
  • Four hundred (400) hours of education from a Board approved institute.
  • Annual license every year.

How Much Do West Virginia Nail Tech Programs Cost?

West Virginia has a lot of highly qualified yet affordable training institutes for aspiring nail technicians. While the cost will vary from one program to the next, most programs will cost in the range of $2,500 to $5,000. Below are a few programs and their associated costs for reference.

  • Charleston School of Beauty (Charleston) – $4,800
  • Huntington School of Beauty Culture (Huntington) – $2,430
  • Morgantown Beauty College (Morgantown) – $4,100

Required Skills and Classes

The West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists has specified that nail technician programs must be at least 400 hours in length which is composed of the following:

  • General professional information, such as business management, sanitation, first aid, and state law – 100 hours
  • Nail technology, such as nail diseases, electricity, the chemistry of nail products, and human anatomy and physiology – 64 hours of theory and 10 hours of hands-on training
  • Performance of manicures, pedicures, massage, nail wraps, nail tips, tool disinfection, nail polishing, and UV gel – 12 hours of theory and 80 hours of hands-on training
  • Art of nail technology such as nail enhancements, creative design, electric filing, and advanced procedures – 21 hours of theory and 113 hours of hands-on training

State Licensing Exam

After completing the specified course hours, the next step for applicants is to register for the State Board exams. Registration can be done through DL Roope Administrations.

  • Written Examination – this theoretical portion of the exams must be completed in 90 minutes or less and will evaluate the examinee’s knowledge of the following:
    • Client consultation and documentation
    • Nail service tools and equipment
    • Nail service set up
    • Performance of manicures and pedicures
    • Nail enhancement services
    • Post nail service procedures
    • Nail technician scientific concepts
    • Infection control and safety
    • Basic human anatomy and physiology
    • Nail anatomy and physiology
    • Basic chemistry and nail products
  • State Law Exam – this test must be completed within 30 minutes and covers West Virginia Rules and Regulations relating to cosmetology and in particular, nail technology.
  • Practical Exam – this hands-on portion of the exams must be completed in 3 hours. Examinees are required to bring a mannequin hand, kit, and supplies of their to perform the following tasks on:
    • Set up and client protection – 15 minutes
    • Manicure and polish application – 20 minutes
    • New client set up and work area preparation – 10 minutes
    • Nail-tip and blending – 20 minutes
    • Sculptured nail – 20 minutes
    • Blood exposure procedure – no time limit

How Much Do Nail Techs Get Paid in West Virginia?

Cosmetology, and in particular nail technology, is a relatively stable source of income for workers across the United States. Those working in West Virginia can expect to earn an average hourly rate of $14.20 or an annual total of $29,530.

Does West Virginia Have Continuing Education Requirements for Nail Technicians?

West Virginia requires a minimum of four hours of continuing education credits with each license renewal period. The state requires you to renew your license each year, which comes with an application form and a renewal fee.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

You can reach the state licensing board for nail techs in West Virginia using the information below.

West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
Address: 1201 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, West Virginia, 25064
Call: 304-558-2924
Fax: 304-558-3450