Becoming a nail technician in Virginia can be a rewarding career choice. On a daily basis, you would have the opportunity to make people feel good about themselves by providing them with high-quality nail services. In addition, you would enjoy the satisfaction of knowing that you are helping people to take care of their nails and improve their overall appearance. Explore more below and also check out our listings to see if there’s a nail tech school near you in Virginia.
Nail Tech Schools in Virginia
State Requirements for Nail Technician Licensing in Virginia
- A minimum of one hundred fifty (150) hours of education or two thousand (2,000) hours of apprenticeship.
- License renewal every two (2) years.
How Much Do Virginia Nail Tech Programs Cost?
The cost of a program to become a nail technician can range from $2,500-$5,250 when tuition, fees, and the purchase of books and supplies are factored in. You can check with the school about options for financial aid, scholarships, or grants to help reduce your total costs.
Required Skills and Classes
To be a successful nail tech in the state of VA, finding a good education is of the utmost importance. The State Board requires a minimum of 150 hours of training specializing in the following concepts:
- Nail forms and removal
- Hand and foot massage
- Safety and sanitation
- Nail products
Option for Apprenticeship – those that don’t have the option to take the formal nail technician education program may take an apprenticeship through the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry which takes a minimum of 2,000 hours to complete.
State Licensing Exam
After finishing the required coursework, the next step for would-be nail care specialists is to take and pass the written and practical exams administered by the Ergometrics/National Testing Network (NTN).
- Written Exam – test takers are given 120 minutes to complete this exam which is composed of 95 multiple-choice questions and will cover the following subjects:
- Sanitation, safety, and infection control – 31 percent
- Nail services – 29 percent
- Virginia State Laws and Regulations – 20 percent
- Tools, equipment, and implements – 9 percent
- Product knowledge and chemistry – 8 percent
- Anatomy and physiology – 3 percent
- Practical Exam – test takers must bring a mannequin hand with all necessary supplies of their own to perform the following procedures:
- Disinfection and initial set up -10 minutes
- Blood spill procedures demonstration – 10 minutes
- Manicure – 15 minutes
- Nail tip – 20 minutes
- Nail wrap – 20 minutes
- Sculptured nail – 20 minutes
- Polish – 15 minutes
- Disinfection and clean up – no time limit
License through Reciprocity – applicants with similar educational and examination requirements to Virginia are eligible for in-state licensure provided that the following conditions are met:
- Has undergone 150 hours of training from a nail technology program
- Has acquired passing scores on both written and practical examinations
Applicants that meet the aforementioned requirements must submit an application for a licensure by endorsement to qualify.
In cases wherein applicants lack the aforementioned requirements, they need to take an out-of-state application through NTN.
How Much Do Nail Techs Get Paid in Virginia?
Those that plan on working as a nail care specialist in VA will be happy to know that the demand for this field is predicted to increase by 11% by 2026. The current hourly within the state is $15.20 which is equivalent to $31,610 annually.
Does Virginia Have Continuing Education Requirements for Nail Technicians?
Virginia does not require continuing education credits to retain your nail tech license. However, you will need to pay your renewal fee and fill out the form every two years.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
You can reach the state licensing board in Virginia at:
Virginia Board for Barbers & Cosmetology
Address: 9960 Maryland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233
Email: [email protected]