Skip to content
Home » Nail Tech Schools Near You » Nail Tech Schools in New Jersey

Nail Tech Schools in New Jersey

New Jersey is home to some of the best nail salons in the country. If you’re looking for a career as a nail technician, there’s no better place to start your search. Whether you’re looking for a high-end salon or a more relaxed environment, you’ll be able to find the perfect salon for your needs. In addition, New Jersey offers a wide variety of nail services, so you’ll be able to find the perfect fit for your skillset. With so many options available, there’s no reason not to start your career as a nail technician in New Jersey. Take the first step by finding a nail tech school near you in New Jersey with our listings below.

Nail Tech Schools in New Jersey

State Requirements for Nail Technician Licensing in New Jersey

  • Must be 17 years old or above.
  • High school graduate.
  • Minimum of 300 hours’ worth of combined theoretical and hands-on training from a reputable nail tech institute.
  • License renewal every 2 years.

How Much Do New Jersey Nail Tech Programs Cost?

For most nail tech programs in New Jersey, you’ll be looking at a total cost of around $4,000 once you factor in tuition, books, supplies, and any associated fees. To help you get a sense of the individual costs, here’s a sample breakdown of a school in Pine Brook, New Jersey.

  • Tuition: $2,899
  • Registration fee: $100
  • Books & Supplies: $500
  • Total: $3,499

Required Skills and Classes

The Board in New Jersey requires that enrollees attend a minimum 300-hour (some schools offer longer training) class before licensing. A comprehensive manicuring curriculum will contain the following courses:

  • Art of Nail Design
  • Science of Nails and Skin
  • The Manicuring Business
  • Manicuring and Pedicuring
  • Nail Tips and Extensions
  • Nail Wraps
  • Nail Gels
  • Sculptured Nails
  • Nail Art
  • Decontamination and Infection Control
  • Diseases and Disorders of the Nail
  • Anatomy of the Hand, Arm, Foot, and Leg
  • Removal of Unwanted Hair
  • Chemicals and Chemistry
  • Salon Management
  • Administrative Shop Operations
  • State Board Exam Preparation
  • State Laws, Rules, and Regulations for Manicurists

State Licensing Exam

Candidates that pass the prerequisite class must apply to take the exams and acquire the license. To process the said request, the following must be completed:

  • A completed Application for Authorization to Sit for the Examination and Licensure
  • Two (2) current photos.
  • Pay the application fee of $50.00 and licensing fee of either $60.00 or $30.00, depending on whether the applicant is in the first or second year of the licensing cycle, respectively.
  • Proof of education completion from both high school and 300-hour nail tech program.
  • Notarized Affidavit
  • Certificate of Experience if applicable
  • Physician’s Certificate
  • Certification of Cosmetology School

All pertinent documents must be sent to the following address:

New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs
New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45003
Newark, New Jersey 07101

Another option is to apply for a student permit provided that the candidate in question is a student at a nail technology school and has attended at least a hundred hours worth of training. The said permit will be valid during training and will expire after graduation and will also allow the holder to practice manicuring services in a school clinic or a shop while training. Registration can be processed through this link.

Candidates that previously held a license from another state can acquire one in New Jersey through endorsement by completing the following:

  • Submit an Application for Licensure by Endorsement including all the pertinent documents.
  • Pay a $100 application fee and a $60 or $30 licensing fee.
  • Provide proof of previous license and work experience.

Once all the prerequisites have been accomplished, it is now time to partake in the actual exams which will be scheduled by the Board.

  • Theoretical Exam – this exam will employ a closed-book policy and must be completed within two (2) hours and composed of one hundred five (105) questions covering the following subjects:
    • Infection Control
    • Salon Ethics
    • Salon Management
    • Anatomy
    • Chemical Concepts
    • Massage
    • Manicure
    • Pedicure
    • Gel Nails
    • Nail Artistry
    • Nail Wraps
    • Nail Tips
    • Sculptured Nails
    • New Jersey Laws and Regulations
  • Practical Exam – examinees can take the practical exam after passing the theoretical test. This test will ensure that candidate can perform manicuring-related services including, but not limited to, the following:
    • Manicuring of fingernails
    • Pedicuring of toenails
    • Nail Sculpting
    • Hair Removal
    • Nail Tip
    • Nail Wrap
    • Nail Sculpting

The passing score for this test is 75% and gives the examinee two (2) chances with no additional cost but will incur additional fees for additional tries.

How Much Do Nail Techs Get Paid in New Jersey?

The job outlook for this career is bright and is predicted to increase by double figures over the next decade according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The average rate as of late is $30,000 per year or $14.42 per hour.

Does New Jersey Have Continuing Education Requirements for Nail Technicians?

No continuing education credits are required during license renewal for nail techs in New Jersey.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

You can contact the nail tech licensing division in New Jersey at:

New Jersey Board of Cosmetology & Hairstyling
Address: PO Box 45003 Newark, NJ 07101
Call: 973-504-6400
Fax: 973-504-6477