Skip to content
Home » Nail Tech Schools Near You » Nail Tech Schools in New Hampshire

Nail Tech Schools in New Hampshire

Many people are finding that becoming a nail technician is a great way to enter the cosmetology industry. A career as a nail technician can be both personally and financially rewarding. With the right training, you can start your own business or find work in a salon, spa, or other settings. This site provides information about what nail technicians do, how to become one, and the job outlook in New Hampshire. If you’re interested in a career as a nail technician, read on to learn more about what nail technicians do and how to enter this growing field. The first step is to find a nail tech school near you in New Hampshire. Check out our listings below to find one that’s a good fit for you.

Nail Tech Schools in New Hampshire

State Requirements for Nail Technician Licensing in New Hampshire

  • Three hundred (300) hours of training from a state-approved school.
  • License renewal every two (2) years.

How Much Do New Hampshire Nail Tech Programs Cost?

The 300-hour training requirement in New Hampshire lets aspiring nail techs quickly learn and get into the field in virtually no time. Of course, you will need to pay for your program. How much? Well, that depends on the school you choose. Usually, the total cost of tuition, fees, books, and supplies will come in somewhere between $4,500 and $7,000. For a sample of costs, here’s the breakdown from one program in West Lebanon, New Hampshire:

  • Registration fee: $225
  • Kit: $2,500
  • Tuition: $3,600
  • Total: $6,325

Required Skills and Classes

Candidates that plan on learning the fine art of nail care can either enroll in a 300-hour training program or work 600 hours as an apprentice under a licensed manicurist within New Hampshire.

Training schools will contain the following courses:

  • Sanitation and safety
  • Bacteriology
  • Professional ethics
  • Manicuring techniques
  • Pedicuring techniques
  • Electric file use
  • Sculptured nails
  • Nail tips
  • Nail wraps
  • Gel nail application
  • Theory
  • Laws and rules
  • Massage

An apprenticeship will contain the following training instead:

  • Bacteriology, safety, and sanitation
  • Professional practice
  • Basic manicuring
  • Sculptured nail, nail tip, nail wrap, and gel application
  • Pedicuring
  • Proper drill use

Besides the aforementioned training; an apprenticeship program will also entail textbook theory relating to manicuring, state laws and rules, and reflexology and massage for manicuring and pedicuring, and will incur a $25 fee.

State Licensing Exam

The first step in obtaining a license is to apply for one by providing the following:

  • Full name and current mailing address
  • Photocopy of driver’s license
  • Photocopy of high school diploma or its equivalent
  • A completed questionnaire for licensure
  • An apprentice application if applicable
  • A verification letter from the nail school of origin
  • A $184 exam fee

Once all the requirements have been verified, candidates will receive a letter of confirmation that contains the schedule and location of the practical exam which will take 3 hours to complete and will consist of the following:

  • Basic manicure with hand and arm massage
  • Sculptured nail
  • Nail-tip
  • Nail wrap
  • Polish

Candidates will also receive a notification letter for the written exam that must be taken after the practical exam.

Once the candidate passes both exams, a $30 licensure fee must be paid to the Board.

More information can be found about the practical exam through this link and the written exam through this link.

How Much Do Nail Techs Get Paid in New Hampshire?

New Hampshire benefits from the influx of tourists from New England. Currently, nail techs working within the area can expect to earn an average of $34,420 per year or $16.55 per hour.

Does New Hampshire Have Continuing Education Requirements for Nail Technicians?

There are no continuing education credit requirements for license renewal for nail technicians in New Hampshire.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

You can reach New Hampshire’s licensing board at:

New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
Location: 7 Eagle Square Concord NH, 03301
Email: [email protected]
Call: 603-271-2152