Skip to content
Home » Nail Tech Schools Near You » Nail Tech Schools in Louisiana

Nail Tech Schools in Louisiana

Louisiana is home to a booming beauty industry, and nail technicians are in high demand. Whether you’re looking for a job in a salon, spa, or another beauty setting, you’ll find plenty of opportunities here. Plus, with our competitive pay rates and benefits packages, you can be sure that you’re getting the most out of your career.

Browse our current nail tech school listings below to find a program in Louisiana that is near you. We can’t wait to help you get started on your new career path!

Nail Tech Schools in Louisiana

State Requirements for Nail Technician Licensing in Louisiana

  • At least 16 years of age.
  • Five hundred (500) hours of education from an approved nail tech course.
  • Annual license renewal.

How Much Do Louisiana Nail Tech Programs Cost?

Louisiana has several choices for beauty schools that offer nail tech programs. As you evaluate your options price will undoubtedly be a factor in your decision. So what can you expect to pay? Usually, once you factor in tuition, books, supplies, and any additional fees, you’ll be looking at a total cost of $4,000 to $7,000.

Required Skills and Classes

while the Board of Louisiana requires only 500 hours of schooling, some institutes will require more than the specified minimum. The courses below are the mandatory topics:

  • Physiology and anatomy
  • Nail composition
  • Chemistry of nail products
  • Sterilization, sanitation, and safety
  • Nail tools and supplies
  • Artificial nails
  • Natural nails
  • Manicuring techniques
  • Pedicuring techniques
  • Massage
  • Application, repair, and removal of artificial nails Infection control
  • Louisiana law

State Licensing Exam

After graduating from a board-approved course, applicants will be eligible to register for the national exams which will be divided into 3 parts.

  • National Written Exam – this test must be scheduled with the examinee’s school only after reading the Candidate Information Bulletin. The tests must be completed within 90 minutes and will mainly deal with scientific concepts and nail tech procedures such as:
    • Bacteria and Viruses
    • Safety Procedures
    • OSHA Requirements
    • Chemical Adhesion and Reactions
    • Product Functions
    • Anatomical Functions of Skin and Nails
    • Manicures and Pedicures
    • Equipment
    • Different Types of Massage
  • Louisiana State Practical Exam – before proceeding, it is highly recommended to read the practical exam guide.

This test is divided into two phases. The manicure phase will take 30 minutes to complete and will consist of basic manicure procedures. The advanced phase will take 45 minutes and requires the following tasks to be completed:

  • Nail Repair
  • Nail Tip
  • Acrylic Nail
  • Supplies and Table Set up
  • State Laws and Regulations – this test mainly deals with basic Louisiana laws related to the practice of manicuring which is covered in the Professional and Occupational Standards outlined by the Board.

Each exam will cost $25 excluding the initial license fee of $25.00 bringing the total fee to $100. For further information, please consult the exam F.A.Q.s.

How Much Do Nail Techs Get Paid in Louisiana?

Nail techs that plan on working in the state of LA can expect an average annual salary of $22,520 which is equivalent to $10.83 per hour.

Does Louisiana Have Continuing Education Requirements for Nail Technicians?

There is currently no continued education requirement for license renewal.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

For any nail tech licensing questions you may have you can reach the Louisiana state board at:

Louisiana Board of Cosmetology
Address: 11622 Sunbelt Court Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Email: [email protected]
Call: 225-756-3404
Fax: 225-756-3410