Skip to content
Home » Nail Tech Schools Near You » Nail Tech Schools in Florida

Nail Tech Schools in Florida

As a professional nail technician in Florida, you can enjoy a number of benefits. For one, you’ll be able to work year-round thanks to the warm climate. This means you can earn a steady income and build up a loyal clientele. In addition, you’ll have the opportunity to work in a variety of settings, from high-end salons to beachside resorts. You’ll also enjoy meeting new people and making them feel good about themselves. And, of course, you’ll get to show off your own creativity with stunning nail art designs.

If you’re looking for a career that is both rewarding and exciting, then look no further than becoming a professional nail technician in Florida. Check out our listings to find a nail tech school near you in Florida today!

Nail Tech Schools in Florida

State Requirements for Nail Technician Licensing in Florida

  • At least sixteen (16) years of age or has a high school diploma.
  • Has a Social Security Number.
  • Has attended a nail tech course consisting of at least two hundred forty (240) hours.
  • Mandatory license renewal every 2 years.

How Much Do Florida Nail Tech Programs Cost?

When you sign up for a nail tech program in Florida it’s going to obviously come with a few costs. Here are some program costs in the state to help you get a feel for what you can expect to pay.

  • Academy of Career Training Barbering & Beauty School (Kissimmee) – $1,100
  • Academy of Cosmetology (Merritt Island) – $3,000
  • American Institute of Beauty, Inc (Largo) – $3,125

Required Skills and Classes

A registered nail care specialist within the Board of Florida must undergo a 240-hour training program. The minimum curriculum will be composed of the following:

  • Florida cosmetology laws and rules: 5 hours
  • HIV/AIDS: 4 hours
  • Sanitation: 4 hours
  • Ethics: 2 hours
  • Nail theory, practice, and related subjects, including nail disorders and diseases: 85 hours

Additionally, services must also go along with the training such as:

  • Manicures: 20 hours
  • Pedicures: 10 hours
  • Tips with overlay: 37.5 hours
  • Nail wraps/mending: 15 hours
  • Nail fill-ins: 10 hours
  • Artificial nail removal: 5 hours
  • Polishing and nail art: 5 hours

State Licensing Exam

Candidates that have completed the required training must complete and submit an Application for Initial License Based on Florida Education to the Department or apply online through the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation online services portal.

An $85 fee must be paid to process the said application. The application, payment, and related documentation must be mailed to

The Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 North Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783

For further inquiries, the Department’s Customer Contact Center can be reached at 1-850-487-1395.

How Much Do Nail Techs Get Paid in Florida?

The sunny state of Florida has a median salary of $31,450 per year or around $15.12 per hour.

Does Florida Have Continuing Education Requirements for Nail Technicians?

Nail specialists within Florida must undergo 10 hours of continuing education for each renewal period to maintain the said license.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

If you have specific questions on licensing you can contact the organization that manages those issues in Florida using the contact information below.

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399
Email: [email protected]
Call: 850-487-1395
Fax: 866-888-1176