Skip to content
Home » Makeup Schools Near You » Makeup Schools in Texas

Makeup Schools in Texas

If you’re interested in a career in makeup, it can really help your career to find a reputable makeup school. Texas is home to many great makeup schools, which can provide you with the training you need to start your career. Here are just a few of the best makeup schools in Texas.

State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Texas

If you only wish to do makeup, the good news is you don’t actually need to get licensed to work in Texas. However, many positions in spas and salons require more services than just makeup, so many will require some form of beauty school licensure to consider you for a position. If you want to pursue a certification to improve your job prospects and pay, there are three popular licensing paths makeup artists take in Texas.

  • Eyelash Extension Specialist License – this license requires the least amount of training at 320 hours. As the name suggests, license holders can perform eyelash extension services.
  • Esthetician License – would-be practitioners must invest a minimum of 750 hours in acquiring the license. Among the services that holders of this license can perform are makeup application, facials, masks, superfluous hair removal, and aromatherapy.
  • Cosmetology License – this license requires 1,500 hours of training. As a more advanced version of esthetics, holders of this license can perform all the services that an esthetician can perform with the addition of the following: eyelash extensions, manicures/pedicures, hair weaving/braiding, and hair cutting.

How Much Do Texas Makeup Schools Cost?

If you choose to work as a licensed makeup artist, your schooling cost will vary depending on the license you seek out.

  • Eyelash extension specialist classes typically cost around $4,000
  • Esthetician courses, on average, will cost around $12,000
  • Cosmetology programs will typically cost about $15,000

Required Skills and Classes

Eyelash extension specialist license aside, the makeup artistry component for the remaining kinds of licenses will have some overlap.

Esthetics – courses in this program will be split in the following manner:

  • Facial treatment, cleansing, masking, and therapy: 225 hours
  • Anatomy and physiology: 90 hours
  • Electricity, machines, and related equipment: 75 hours
  • Makeup: 75 hours
  • Orientation, rules, and laws: 50 hours
  • Chemistry: 50 hours
  • Care of client: 50 hours
  • Sanitation, safety, and first aid: 40 hours
  • Management: 35 hours
  • Superfluous hair removal: 25 hours
  • Aromatherapy: 15 hours
  • Nutrition: 10 hours
  • Color psychology: 10 hours

Cosmetology – The recommended subject in Texas are as follows:

  • Theory and practice of hair cutting and styling
  • Hairdresser training
  • Hair coloring
  • Cold waving
  • Salon management and practice
  • Makeup training
  • Manicuring
  • Chemical hair relaxing
  • Facials
  • Chemistry
  • Hair and scalp treatments
  • Texas rules and laws

State Licensing Exams

Candidates that pass the required will earn the right to take the licensure exams.

Esthetics – qualifiers for the licensure must be at least 17 years of age and possess a high school diploma. The application costs $50 and should be paid to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation prior to the examination.

Written Exam –  the theoretical test will cover the following subjects:

  • Sanitation, disinfection, and safety (3%)
  • Client consultation and analysis (12%)
  • Basic facial treatments (20%)
  • Advanced facial treatments (12%)
  • Hair removal (9%)
  • Facial makeup (5%)
  • Licensing and regulation (7%)

Practical Exam – the hands-on portion of the exams will need to be completed within one and a half hours consisting of the following activities:

  • Pre-exam set-up and disinfection: 10 minutes
  • Skin cleansing service: 15 minutes
  • Face and neck steaming: 5 minutes
  • Face and neck massaging: 15 minutes
  • Mask/pack and moisturizing: 15 minutes
  • Eyebrow arching using tweezers: 10 minutes
  • Eyebrow arching using mock cold wax: 10 minutes
  • End of exam disinfection: 10 minutes

Cosmetology – aside from finishing the required training, the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation requires applicants to be at least 17 years old to be eligible for the license.

Written Exam – this test will be composed of 100 multiple-choice questions within a two-hour time limit. Topics include:

  • Disinfection, sanitation, and safety
  • Shampooing and conditioning of hair
  • Hair cutting and hair styling
  • Braiding and braid extensions
  • Hair coloring
  • Chemical texture services
  • Licensing and regulations
  • Skin care
  • Nail care

Practical Exam – participants are required to bring a live model to perform the exam on that fall under the following criteria:

  • At least 16 years old
  • Is free from any skin disorder
  • Wearing an eye makeup
  • Currently has no nail polish

The test itself must be completed in 200 minutes. Examinees’ will be evaluated based on the following activities:

  • Set-up and disinfection
  • Manicure performed on your live model
  • Facial performed on your live model
  • Chemical services – preparation, virgin tint, virgin relaxer, bleach retouch
  • Shampoo service
  • Hair shaping service
  • Permanent waving service
  • Curl demonstration and roller placement
  • Blow drying and thermal curling
  • Clean-up disinfection

How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Texas?

The median salary for makeup artists working in Texas is equal to $11 per hour or $21,960 per year according to

Does Texas Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?

If you have an esthetician or cosmetology license in Texas you’ll need to renew your license every two years. This means you’ll need to pay the license renewal fee and also complete four hours of continuing education classes approved by the state licensing board.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations
Address: PO Box 12157, Austin, TX 78711
Website: Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations
Call: 512-463-6599
Fax: 512-463-9468