Skip to content
Home » Makeup Schools Near You » Makeup Schools in Tennessee

Makeup Schools in Tennessee

The benefits of attending a makeup school in Tennessee are plentiful. You’ll learn from experienced instructors who will teach you the latest techniques and trends in the industry. In addition, you’ll have access to top-of-the-line equipment and facilities. And, you’ll be able to network with other makeup artists in Tennessee. All of these factors make attending a makeup school in Tennessee a great choice for those interested in pursuing a career in the cosmetics industry.

To help you get started on researching your options for makeup schools in Tennessee, we’ve compiled a list of some of the best makeup schools in the state. Read on to learn more about each school and what they have to offer.

State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Tennessee

By law, a would makeup artist working in a salon or spa must meet either of the following criteria:

  • Has finished an esthetician program with a minimum of 750 hours of schooling and has passed both the written and practical licensure exams.


  • Has finished a cosmetology program with a minimum of 1,500 hours of schooling and has passed both the written and practical licensure exams.

How Much Do Tennessee Makeup Schools Cost?

The cost of your makeup artist education largely depends on the beauty school education you pursue. If you choose to get a cosmetology license, those programs will cost you about $14,000 on average in Tennessee. If you decide to get an esthetician certification, that will cost about $11,500 on average.

Required Skills and Classes

The Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners sets the standards and requirements for incoming makeup artists.

Esthetics – this program requires students to undergo 750 hours’ worth of training in the following areas:

  • General (150 hours)
    • Sterilization
    • Sanitation
    • Bacteriology
    • Professional Ethics
    • Salesmanship
    • State Law
  • Chemical (150 hours):
    • Skin Conditions
    • Disorders
    • Nutrition
    • Aging Factors
    • Product Ingredients
    • Waxing
    • Lash and Brow Tinting
  • Physical (450 hours)
    • Massage Movements and Manipulation
    • Masks and Packs
    • Facial Treatments with Machines
    • Skin Analysis and Consultation
    • Application of all Products
    • Color Psychology
    • Makeup and Corrective Makeup

Cosmetology – being more involved than the former, this program requires a minimum of 1,500 hours of training in areas like:

  • Shampooing and rinsing
  • Salon psychology and sales
  • Scalp and hair care
  • Anatomy and physiology
  • Business ethics
  • Chemical relaxing
  • Toning and bleaching
  • Hair shaping and styling
  • Hairdresser training
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Makeup training
  • Sanitation and sterilization
  • Brow and lash tinting
  • Hair coloring

State Licensing Exams

Aside from passing the licensure exams, there are also alternative ways of acquiring the license.

Esthetics – only out-of-state applicants are required to submit an application before taking the exams. To be eligible for the license transfer, applicants should meet the following criteria:

  • Has completed 750 hours of schooling in an aesthetician school from the origin state


  • Proof of 5 years of aesthetician work experience immediately before applying for a license

Once the aforementioned criteria have been met, candidates should forward the application to the following:

State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
500 James Robertson Pkwy
Nashville, TN 37243

For those that must take the exams, you can learn more about the details of the written and practical exams in Tennessee below.

Written Exam – examinees will be presented with a total of 75 multiple-choice questions. The time limit to finish the following will be no more than one and a half hours:

  • Sanitation and Safety (15 questions)
  • Client Consultation and Analysis (8 questions)
  • Basic Facial Treatments (15 questions)
  • Advanced Facial Treatments (15 questions)
  • Hair Removal (7 questions)
  • Facial Makeup (7 questions)
  • Tennessee Licensing (8 questions)

Practical Exam – participants are required to bring along a live model that is at least 16 years old along with their own kit and supplies such as the following:

  • Towels
  • Paper Towels
  • Aesthetician Wipes
  • Massage Cream
  • Cleansing Cream
  • Treatment Cream
  • Blood Spill Kit
  • EPA-Registered Disinfectant
  • Gloves
  • Sanitizing Bowl
  • Mock Mask and Wax

This test must be completed in 2 hours and 5 minutes or less to perform the following graded activities such as:

  • Pre-Exam Set up and Disinfection (8%)
  • Skin Cleansing Procedure (12%)
  • Skin Cleansing Safety (7%)
  • Face Steaming Procedure (6%)
  • Face Steaming Safety (5%)
  • Facial Treatment Procedure (14%)
  • Facial Treatment Safety (7%)
  • Face Massaging Procedure (6%)
  • Mask and Moisturizing Procedure (4%)
  • Mask and Moisturizing Safety (7%)
  • Eyebrow Arch Procedure (5%)
  • Eyebrow Arching Using Mock Cold Wax Procedure (10%)
  • Eyebrow Arching Using Mock Cold Wax Safety (7%)
  • End of Exam Disinfection (4%)

Cosmetology – the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners utilizes PSI to administer the licensure exams.

Theory Exam – the allotted time limit for this multiple-choice test is 120 minutes. Topics covered as follows:

  • Sanitation, disinfection, and safety – (20%)
  • Hair coloring – (17%)
  • Chemical texture services – (17%)
  • Hair styling and cutting – (12%)
  • Licensing – (10%)
  • Extensions and braids – (8%)
  • Nail care – (7%)
  • Skincare – (7%)
  • Shampooing and conditioning hair – (2%)

Practical Exam – candidates must finish this test in 170 minutes or less. To perform the necessary graded activities, participants must bring items such as:

  • Two mannequins
  • Hair cutting shears
  • Chemical cape
  • Neck strips
  • EPA-registered disinfectant
  • Blow dryer
  • Blood spill kit
  • Razor with guard

The activities that examinees will be evaluated on are as follows:

  • Set-up, disinfection, and safety
  • Chemical services
  • Virgin lightener
  • Color retouch
  • Relaxer retouch
  • Virgin relaxer
  • Removal of hair product
  • 90-degree haircut
  • Permanent waving service
  • Thermal hairstyling
  • Finger wave with at least two pin curls
  • Disinfection

How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Tennessee?

The location and setting where a makeup artist works have a huge impact on how much they get paid. According to, professional makeup artists in Tennessee make an average of $20,317 per year.

Does Tennessee Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?

Tennessee does not require makeup artists to complete continuing education credits along with their license renewals. However, licenses must be renewed every two years and MUAs must pay the required renewal fee.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Tennessee State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Address: 500 James Robertson Parkway Nashville, TN 37243
Website: Tennessee State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Email: [email protected]
Call: 615-741-2515
Fax: 615-741-1310