It’s no secret that the makeup industry is booming. In fact, it’s one of the few industries that continues to grow even in tough economic times. That means plenty of opportunities for those who want to enter the field and learn how to do makeup.
If you’re looking for a good makeup school, Oklahoma is a great place to start your search. There are many schools located in the state that offer excellent programs in makeup artistry. And because the industry is so competitive, it’s essential to find a school that can provide you with the best training possible.
State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Oklahoma
Oklahoma refers to makeup artists as cosmeticians, which has its own license requirements. To work in makeup you must be a licensed cosmetician with 600 hours of schooling, pass both state exams, be at least 16 years old, and have a minimum of an eighth-grade education.
How Much Do Oklahoma Makeup Schools Cost?
Attending a makeup artistry school, or cosmetician program, in Oklahoma will typically set you back between $6,000 and $8,000 once you pay for registration fees, books, supplies, and tuition.
Required Skills and Classes
Regardless if a would-be makeup artist decides to go to a public or private school, a state-sponsored cosmetician program must contain the following subjects:
- Bacteriology, sanitation, and sterilization (60 hours)
- Makeup application, including lipstick, eyeliner, eyeshadow, mascara, and rouge (200 hours)
- Hair arranging, including the use of curling irons, combs, hot rollers, brushes, and related products or accessories (200 hours)
- Salon development, such as business administration, insurance, law, ethics, record keeping, advertising, hygiene, and public health (90 hours)
- Cosmetology laws, rules, and regulations (50 hours)
Apprenticeship – applicants can also choose an apprenticeship program which requires 1,200 hours of training in the presence of an instructor.
State Licensing Exams
Applicants become eligible for the state exams once they’ve completed the required training. The school of origin will assist in filling out the exam registration application which must be submitted to the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering or OSBCB.
The written and practical exams cover the following subjects:
- Physical demonstration of basic cosmetician tasks
- The theory behind cosmetician procedures
- Safety procedures
- State rules, regulations, and laws
Examinees must acquire a minimum score of 75% on both exams to be eligible for the license.
Out-of-State Application – current holders of a cosmetology license from another state may transfer their license to Oklahoma if they can provide the following:
- Has completed the reciprocity application form.
- Proof of current license.
- Has paid the $65 reciprocity fee.
How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Oklahoma?
The current median salary for makeup professionals in Oklahoma is $21,022 per year or about $10 per hour according to salary.com.
Does Oklahoma Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?
Oklahoma does not require continuing education credits for makeup artists when they renew their annual licenses. Licenses must be renewed by the last day of the license holder’s birthday month each year.