If you’re interested in learning about makeup, then it’s a good idea to find and apply to a makeup school in Ohio. Makeup schools offer a variety of courses that can help you learn about different aspects of makeup, from history to application. In addition, many schools also offer the opportunity to work with professional makeup artists who can help teach you the ropes. So if you’re looking for a career in makeup or just want to learn more about it, consider applying to one of the many great makeup schools located in Ohio.
Makeup Schools in Ohio
|id||keyword||barber||cosmetology||esthetician||hair||makeup||nail||beauty||general||School Specialties||School Name||full_address||Street Address||City||State||Zip Code||plus_code||Website||Phone Number||latitude||longitude||latlong||Learning Environment||Rating||Reviews||5star||4star||3star||2star||1star||Image||Pricing||Description||hours||hours_info||Monday Hours||Tuesday Hours||Wednesday Hours||Thursday Hours||Friday Hours||Saturday Hours||Sunday Hours||Schools in This Area||Details|
|601||makeup artistry classes in Kansas||0||0||0||0||1||0||0||0||Makeup||Aveda Institute Columbus||889 Bethel Rd, Columbus, OH 43214||889 Bethel Rd||Columbus||OH||43214||3X74+3Q Columbus, Ohio||https://avedafi.edu||(614) 291-2421||Beauty school||40||-83||3.5||127 reviews||3||7||40||9:30AM to 5:30PM|
|School Specialties||School Name||City||Zip Code|
Schools in This Area:
State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Ohio
- Holder of an esthetician license with a minimum of 600 hours of training
- Holder of a cosmetology license with a minimum of one thousand five hundred 1,500 hours of training
How Much Do Makeup Artist Classes Cost in Ohio?
The cost of education will depend on the desired license. Esthetician schools tend to be less expensive in Ohio, with tuition costs averaging around $10,000. Cosmetology courses are longer, and more involved, and have an average tuition of almost $17,000. Keep in mind, you will also have additional costs for books, fees, and supplies.
Required Skills and Classes
The Board of Ohio requires a minimum of 600 hours in total for esthetics students. The number of hours per subject is as indicated as follows:
- Sanitation and Bacteriology (75 hours)
- Anatomy (70 hours)
- Specialized Equipment and Treatments (40 hours)
- Massage (70 hours)
- Chemistry (40 hours)
- Facial (80 hours)
- Skin (70 hours)
- Makeup (95 hours)
- Salon Operations and Communication (40 hours)
- Ohio Cosmetology Laws and Rules (20 hours)
Internship – students that have completed 50% of their training may start an internship in a salon which account for 10% or about sixty (60) hours of the 600 hours. To process the internship, applicants must provide the following:
- Submit a completed internship program student enrollment form to the Board of Ohio
- Read and understand the Ohio internship program enrollment information
- Submit the 600-Hour esthetics student-internship assessment report
Practitioners of cosmetology, on the other hand, will require a more significant investment in training totaling 1,500 hours. The Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board require the following courses with the accompanying number of hours:
- Artificial Lashes/Extensions (8 hours)
- Chemical Procedures & Practices (480 hours)
- Cosmetology Laws & Rules (20 hours)
- Facial Make-Up(22 hours)
- Hair Procedures & Practices (460 hours)
- Infection Control & Principles/Practices (60 hours)
- Manicure and Pedicure Procedures & Practices (120 hours)
- Properties of the Hair & Scalp (120 hours)
- Salon Operations & Communication Skills (120 hours)
- Skin Care Procedures & Practices (90 hours)
State Licensing Exams
The state exam requirements for the two programs are as follows.
Esthetic examinees must provide the following on the of the exam:
- A government-issued photo ID such as a driver’s license, military ID, U.S. passport, etc.
- Mannequin head and hand plus supplies that will be used on the hands-on exam such as towels, gloves, wax removal products, tweezers, etc.
The hands-on exam will consist of the following:
- Set Up and Client Protection (15 minutes)
- Cleansing/Steaming (5 minutes for cleansing, steaming time determined by the examiner)
- Extractions (untimed)
- Hair Removal (untimed)
- Mask/Massage (5 minutes for the mask, massage time determined by the examiner)
The written exam consists of 100 multiple choice questions and must be completed ninety (90) minutes or less. Subjects covered along with their equivalent percentage are indicated as follows:
- Infection Control (45%)
- Skin Care & Services (20%)
- Anatomy & Physiology (15%)
- Product Knowledge & Chemistry (10%)
- Implements, Tools & Equipment (10%)
Cosmetology examinees must go online and create an eLicense account and must pay its accompanying fee and a personal license that costs $31.50 and $45 respectively. They should also provide the following on the day of the exam:
- A government-issued photo ID
- Mannequin heads and hands plus general supplies
The practical exam must be completed in two hours and twenty-five minutes with an additional thermal curling component that is untimed. Activities that an examinee will perform are as follows:
- Set-Up and Client Protection
- Thermal Curling
- Chemical Wave
- Hair Color Retouch
The written exam for this field consists of 100 multiple-choice questions and must be completed within ninety (90) minutes or less. The subjects covered along with their equivalent percentage are indicated as follows:
- Infection Control & Safety (24%)
- Product Knowledge & Chemistry (5%)
- Implements, Tools & Equipment (8%)
- Anatomy & Physiology (27%)
- Hair Care & Services (22%)
- Skin Care & Services (7%)
- Nail Care & Services (7%)
Licensure via Reciprocity – cosmetology applicants may opt for a license by reciprocity provided that they meet certain requirements such as:
- The acquired license from another state must valid and is at least a year old.
- Has trained for a minimum of 1,500 hours.
- Has passed the licensure exams.
- The state of origin is in agreement with Ohio with regard to reciprocity.
If a reciprocity applicant has met the specified requirements, the next step is to provide the following to qualify:
- A copy of a government-issued photo ID.
- A certificate of licensure from the state board where the license was obtained.
- A copy of the current license
- Has paid the $73.50 fee
How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Ohio?
Base salary varies from person to person and from salon to salon. Customer tips also play a considerable amount in the total earnings of the makeup artist in question. Currently, the median salary for this profession in Ohio comes out to $21,836 per year or about $10 per hour.
Does Ohio Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?
The number of hours required for continued education depends on the license in question. Estheticians will require a minimum of four hours while cosmetologists will require eight hours between each license renewal, which is every two years.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board
Address: 1929 Gateway Circle Grove City, OH 43123
Email: [email protected]