If you’re interested in a career in makeup, then finding and applying to one of the many makeup schools located in New Jersey is a good idea. The state has a number of quality schools that can provide you with the education you need to start your career. In addition, New Jersey’s proximity to major cities like Philadelphia and New York means that there are plenty of job opportunities available once you graduate. So if you’re looking for a top-notch makeup education and want easy access to lots of job opportunities, then consider applying to one of the many makeup schools in New Jersey.
Makeup Schools in New Jersey
State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in New Jersey
New Jersey doesn’t require a license to apply makeup. However, many salons and employers give preference to makeup artists who have achieved an esthetician’s license, which requires a few steps.
- Apply to the state board
- Attend and pass an accredited 600-hour esthetician program
- Pass the state board exams
- Pay license fees and stay up to date on future renewals and fees
How Much Do New Jersey Makeup Schools Cost?
For makeup artists that choose to earn an esthetician certification in New Jersey, they can expect to pay an average of $9,599 for tuition and $1,696 in additional costs for books, supplies, etc. If cost is the main driver, you can shop around and sometimes find classes that have a total cost closer to $8,000. It’s also a good idea to look into financial aid options at any schools you’re considering, as that can trim your costs substantially if scholarships or other aid are available.
Required Skills and Classes
While an esthetician program isn’t required, those that take one will find that they are well-prepared to work as a makeup artist in New Jersey. The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling requires incoming makeup artists in an esthetician program to learn the following topics and skills:
- Business practices and job skills
- Makeup techniques
- Facial and body procedures
- Chemistry (skin care)
- Superfluous hair removal
- Structure/functions of skin
- Anatomy, nutrition and physiology
- Bacteriology, sterilization and sanitation
- Professionalism, health and safety
- State laws, regulations and rules
State Licensing Exams
For those makeup artists pursuing an esthetician license, they will need to pass the required exams as the final hurdle before they can practice as a licensed esthetician. Once a makeup artistry student completes at least 480 hours out of the 600-hour esthetics program, they can register for the next step which is to take the state’s two mandatory exams.
The written portion of the exam will test the examinee’s knowledge of the following:
- General concepts:
- EPA/OSHA requirements
- Salon management
- Salon ethics
- Client protection
- Infection control/bacteriology
- Applied anatomy and physiology:
- Skeletal, circulatory, nervous and muscular systems
- Conditions, diseases and disorders
- Growth and regeneration
- Structure and function
- Skin treatments:
- Hair removal:
- New Jersey Regulations and Laws
After completing the theoretical portion of the exam, the Board will set the schedule for the practical exam. When a test has passed both exams, the Board will send the license via mail.
How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in New Jersey?
Makeup artists working in New Jersey will enjoy a very competitive annual salary of $24,652 per year according to salary.com. The top 10% of makeup artists will make $31,960 or more annually.
Does New Jersey Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?
Whether you are licensed as an esthetician or practicing makeup artistry unlicensed in New Jersey, you are not required to take any continuing education credits. Those with esthetician licenses will have to renew their licenses in even-numbered years and pay a renewal fee.