Skip to content
Home » Makeup Schools Near You » Makeup Schools in New Hampshire

Makeup Schools in New Hampshire

If you’re looking for a makeup school in New Hampshire, you’re in luck. There are several great schools to choose from, and all of them offer excellent education and training in the art of makeup.

Makeup schools offer comprehensive curriculums that cover everything from basic beauty techniques to advanced special effects makeup. In addition, most schools have professional-grade studios and equipment, which allow students to get hands-on experience with real-world applications.

Attending a makeup school can also help you build your professional network. Graduates often find themselves working with other professionals in the industry, such as hair stylists, photographers, and costume designers. So if you’re interested in a career in makeup, be sure to check out the schools in New Hampshire. They’ll give you the skills and training you need to succeed.

Makeup Schools in New Hampshire

State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in New Hampshire

If you want to work as a makeup artist in a salon in Massachusetts you will need an esthetician license or a cosmetology license. Most MUAs choose to get an esthetician license because the programs are shorter and less expensive. To earn an esthetician license you’ll need to submit an application, complete 600 hours of esthetic education from a certified school, and pass the state board’s esthetician tests. The path is similar for cosmetologists, though the class requirements bolt up to 1,500 hours of education.

Another option for estheticians or cosmetologists who’d rather avoid taking courses is to do an apprenticeship, but you will be required to perform twice the hours – 3,000 for cosmetologists or 1,200 for estheticians. You’ll also still need to pass the state exams.

How Much Do New Hampshire Makeup Schools Cost?

The average price for an esthetician program in New Hampshire is about $15,000 once tuition, supplies, books, and fees are tallied up. Cosmetology programs cost, on average, about $21,000. The average esthetician program lasts around five months while cosmetology courses will usually take closer to twelve months to complete.

Required Skills and Classes

Those that prefer to forego the apprenticeship program and enter an esthetician course must take on a 600-hour training program which includes the following:

  • Skin history
  • Cleansing
  • Bacteriology and sanitation
  • Exfoliation
  • Skin analysis
  • Facial massage
  • Mask application
  • Waxing
  • Skin disorders
  • Skin histology
  • Makeup
  • Body treatments
  • Extractions
  • Chemistry
  • Electricity
  • Anatomy
  • Use of machines
  • Management of salons and spas
  • State laws

State Licensing Exams

Those that plan on acquiring an esthetics license must register with DL Roope Testing Services before being allowed to take the state exams.

The theoretical exam will test the examinee’s knowledge of:

  • Sanitation and Infection Control
  • Disorders of the Sebaceous and Sudoriferous Glands
  • Anatomy and Physiology
  • Skin Histology
  • Chemistry
  • Skin Care Products
  • Skin Diseases, Disorders, and Conditions
  • Factors Affecting the Skin
  • Skin Analysis
  • Specialized Services
  • Hair Removal Procedures
  • Electricity Use
  • Mask use
  • Massage procedures
  • Exfoliation procedures
  • Cleansing procedures
  • Product application and removal procedures

The hands-on portion of the exams will require its participants to bring their own mannequin head which the following activities will be based on:

  • Setup and client protection
  • Cleansing and steaming the face
  • Manual extraction of the forehead
  • Face massage
  • Hair removal- eyebrows
  • Facial mask
  • Facial makeup
  • Final cleanup

Additionally, test takers may consult this study guide to prepare for the NH State Law exam.

How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in New Hampshire?

Earnings differ between work settings, but on average, New Hampshire makeup artists make an annual wage of $22,632 or about $11 per hour according to The top 10% of earners will make $29,341 or more.

Does New Hampshire Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?

Makeup artists in New Hampshire can renew their licenses without the need for continuing education credits, though many do so to stay up to date on the latest information on regulations and to learn about new trends and styles. Even though continuing education credits are not a requirement, makeup artists will still need to renew their licenses every two years and pay a $50 renewal fee.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
Address: 7 Eagle Square Concord NH, 03301
Email: [email protected]
Call: 603-271-2152