Skip to content
Home » Makeup Schools Near You » Makeup Schools in Nevada

Makeup Schools in Nevada

Makeup schools are becoming more popular all over the country. This is because people are realizing that it is a great way to learn about makeup and also to start their own business. If you are looking for a makeup school, then you should consider one located in Nevada.

Makeup Schools in Nevada

State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Nevada

Nevada is a state that does not require a specific license to work as a makeup artist. However, they do require that you register with the state and provide your employer’s information. Many makeup artists opt to go to school and become certified estheticians, however, as it provides them with more marketable skills and improves their job prospects. To become an esthetician in Nevada one must:

  • Be 18 years or older
  • Graduate from an esthetics program with at least 900-hour of schooling from an accredited institute

How Much Do Nevada Makeup Schools Cost?

For makeup artists in Nevada that choose to get an esthetics license, a program will cost roughly $11,700 according to the site That cost includes supplies, books, and associated fees. You can get an idea of how the costs break down in the pricing from Expertise Cosmetology Institute below.

  • Tuition: $8,200
  • Instruction Book: $1,140
  • Registration Fee: $100
  • Uniform: $50
  • Enrollment Fee (StateBoard):$10
  • Total: $9,500

Required Skills and Classes

Again, no courses are required to become a makeup artist in Nevada. But, for those who take an esthetician program, they will be expected to master the following concepts and skills:

  • Skin care
  • Skin science
  • Facial manipulations
  • Sanitation
  • Infection control
  • Nevada laws
  • Chemistry
  • Business skills
  • Client service

State Licensing Exams

For makeup artists that choose to acquire an esthetician’s license, they will first need to pass Nevada’s licensing exam. These examinees must take and pass both the written and practical exams along with the state law test. Among the concepts tackled in the exams are as follows:

  • Hair removal
  • Facials
  • Chemistry and anatomy
  • Skin manipulation
  • Cleansing
  • Safety and sanitation
  • Applying and removing cosmetics
  • Facial mask
  • Facial makeup
  • Hair removal
  • Facial massage

How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Nevada?

Currently, makeup artists in Nevada earn an average salary of $22,855 according to, which is higher than most states. Nevada is known for its strong cosmetology industry. CareerOneStop predicts that this industry will see a 13% increase between through 2026.

Does Nevada Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?

As Nevada does not require makeup artists have a license, there is also no renewal or continuing education requirements for unlicensed makeup artists. As mentioned earlier, unlicensed makeup artists still need to register with the state. For makeup artists with esthetician licenses, they will be required to renew their licenses in either two or four-year increments. It costs $70 for a two-year renewal and $140 for a four-year renewal. You can find renewal information here.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
Address: 1785 E. Sahara Ave., Suite 255 Las Vegas, NV 89104
Email: [email protected]
Call: 702-486-6542
Fax: 702-369-8064