There are many great reasons to attend a makeup school in Nebraska. Throughout makeup school, you will learn about all the latest techniques and products and how to apply them to achieve the best results. You will also have the opportunity to meet other makeup artists and build a network of contacts that can help you in your career. After graduation, you will be prepared to start your own business or work for a cosmetics company.
Makeup Schools in Nebraska
If you are interested in attending a makeup school in Nebraska, here is a list.
State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Nebraska
Nebraska does not require a specific license to apply makeup, so in truth, you could work as a makeup artist in the state without any educational background. However, you’ll find that many salons and other employers of makeup artists prefer to hire someone who has completed an esthetics or cosmetology program. Not only does it give the employer a more well-rounded worker, but many makeup artists also choose to graduate from these programs because it increases their skills and earning potential.
If you want to get a license, the most direct and cost-effective path is to take an esthetician program or to work as an apprentice. Earning a license requires 600 hours of combined classroom and laboratory training or 600 credits in an approved school of cosmetology or working as an apprentice in a salon.
Once you’ve completed these steps, you’ll need to pass the state exam and pay your licensing fee.
How Much Do Nebraska Makeup Schools Cost?
If you choose to get an esthetician license on your way to becoming a makeup artist in Nebraska you’ll find that the average cost of those programs is around $11,300 according to the website collegetuitioncompare.com. Prices can vary quite a bit, so it’s worth checking into a few programs to see which one is the best fit for you culturally and financially.
Here is some sample pricing from one program in Omaha.
- Upfront enrollment deposit: $1,000 (includes $250 registration fee and $750 kit fee)
- Remaining kit: $1,250
- Supplies: $1,300
- Tuition: $9,300
- Total tuition and fees: $12,850
Required Skills and Classes
Again, Nebraska does not have any licensing requirements for makeup artists who strictly apply makeup. But for aspiring makeup professionals that choose to specialize in an esthetics class for a quicker turnaround or opt for more comprehensive training as a cosmetician, there are some specific thresholds you will need to meet in the classroom.
A 600-hour esthetician class in Nebraska will contain the following courses:
- Anatomy and physiology
- Skin analysis
- Skin diseases and disorders
- Basic facials
- Facial massages
- Hair removal
- Body treatments
- Chemical, manual, and machine-aided facials
- Makeup and color theory
For cosmetology, students must enroll in an 1,800-hour program to learn the following in an accredited school:
- Permanent waving and chemical relaxing
- Facials, including eyebrow arching, waxing, and facial massage
- Hairstyling, including pin curl formations, rollers, finger waving, thermal curling, braiding, and comb-outs
- Manicuring and pedicuring
- Artificial nails
- Shampoos, conditioners, and scalp treatments
- Hair coloring
- Nebraska cosmetology law
- Rules and policies
- Ethics and grooming
- Reception skills
- Cosmetology chemistry
State Licensing Exams
The next step for esthetics and cosmetology students is to register for the licensure exams by completing this form online along with the necessary documentation and fees.
Topics covered in the esthetics theory exam are as follows:
- Skin analysis
- Hair removal
- Makeup application
- Equipment usage
How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Nebraska?
According to salary.com, the average pay for a makeup artist in Nebraska is $20,447 annually. As for the industry itself, there’s good news on the job front as well. The makeup artistry profession is forecasted to increase by 8% through the year 2026 according to CareerOneStop, meaning you’ll have lots of employment options.
Does Nebraska Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?
There are no continuing education credit requirements for those without licenses. For makeup artists in Nebraska that want to hold onto their cosmetology or esthetician license, they will have to show proof of eight completed CE credits between each two-year renewal period.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
Department of Health and Human Services
Address: 301 Centennial Mall South 14th & M Streets, 1st Floor, Lincoln NE 68508
Email: [email protected]