If you’re interested in learning about the art of makeup, then you’ll be happy to know that there are several great makeup schools located right here in Michigan. In fact, some of the best makeup artists in the world got their start at one of these schools. So if you’re serious about making a career out of makeup, then it’s definitely worth your time to check out these schools and apply.
Makeup Schools in Michigan
State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Michigan
- Must be seventeen (17) years of age or older.
- Must be an esthetician or a cosmetology license holder.
How Much Do Michigan Makeup Schools Cost?
The price of admission will depend on whether a would-be makeup professional prefers to finish his/her schooling as quickly as possible or to get more in-depth training. Esthetics programs in Michigan tend to be less expensive than cosmetology courses. Below, you can see the difference in costs at the Multimedia Makeup Academy in Troy, Michigan.
Professional Program of Esthetics:
- Tuition: $13,500
- Kit fee: $1,614.21
Scholar Program of Cosmetology:
- Tuition: $22,500
- Kit fee: $2,976.35
According to the website collegetuitioncompare.com, the average cost of esthetics courses in Michigan is about $8,450 while a cosmetics program will cost approximately $18,500.
Required Skills and Classes
In Michigan, a makeup artist’s repertoire of skills will depend on what program they choose.
A 400-hour esthetician course will teach students the following skills:
- Facial and skin care techniques
- Sanitation and client protection
- Anatomy and skin disorders
- Mechanical and electrical equipment and safety
- Temporary hair removal
- Occupational safety and health
- Makeup and artistic principles
- Administration and business
Cosmetology programs will provide both classroom time and hands-on training about hair, skin, and nails.
- Sanitation procedures
- Human physiology and anatomy
- Esthetician procedures
- Hair treatments
- Management theory
State Licensing Exams
Once the other requirements are met for candidates looking to become makeup artists, passing the licensure exams is mandatory.
The written portion of the test will cover theoretical aspects such as:
- Applied anatomy
- General concepts such as infection control and client protection
- Hair removal
- Skin treatments
- State laws and regulations
For the practical exam, participants are required to bring their own supplies which will be used to perform on a live model that is at least 18 years of age. Procedures to be done are as follows:
- Skin cleansing
- Face steaming
- Face massaging
- Mask application and moisturizing
- Eyebrow services
How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Michigan?
Based on data from salary.com, makeup artists in Michigan earn $22,315 per month on average or about $10.73 per hour.
Does Michigan Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?
No continuing education credits are required for makeup artists to maintain their license in Michigan. They will, however, have to renew their license every two year and pay a renewal fee.
Contact Information for Licensing Board