Skip to content
Home » Makeup Schools Near You » Makeup Schools in Massachusetts

Makeup Schools in Massachusetts

There are many reasons why it’s a good idea to find and apply to a makeup school in Massachusetts. You’ll be getting an education from some of the best experts in the field, you’ll have access to the latest techniques and products, and you’ll be able to network with other industry professionals.

Makeup Schools in Massachusetts

But with so many schools to choose from, how do you know which one is right for you? Here’s a list of the top makeup schools in Massachusetts so that you can make an informed decision about your education.

State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Massachusetts

Massachusetts is a state that does not require licensing or credentials to work as a makeup artist. That said, many makeup artists opt to take an esthetician or cosmetology program to help build the trust of employees and clients.

How Much Do Massachusetts Makeup Schools Cost?

The average cost of makeup schools in the United States is just over $8,300. For makeup artists that want to go all in and get an esthetician license, the average cost in Massachusetts is around $12,000 including tuition, books, and supplies.

Many students are able to get student aid in the form of grants or scholarships to help reduce their total education expense, check with the schools as you do your research to see what options are available.

being home to one of the best schools in the country, Massachusetts is a learner’s paradise. For those that want to specialize in makeup artistry, please refer to the table below:

Required Skills and Classes

Aspiring makeup artists that plan on taking a state-accredited 600-hour esthetician program can expect to take courses such as:

  • Human Biology, Anatomy and Physiology: 30 hours
  • Histology, Diseases, and Disorders of the Skin: 30 hours
  • Nutrition: 10 hours
  • Cosmetic Chemistry, Ingredients, and Product Knowledge: 30 hours
  • Cleaning, Disinfection, and Bacteriology: 40 hours
  • Business Management, Sales, Law, Communication, and Ethics: 30 hours
  • Massage: 40 hours
  • Application of Makeup, Product Knowledge, and Sales: 60 hours
  • Electricity and Aesthetics Equipment: 50 hours
  • Depilation and Waxing, Eyelash and Eyebrow Extensions and Tinting, Eyelash Perming: 60 hours
  • Clinical Practice, Treatment Procedures, and Record Keeping: 220 hours

State Licensing Exams

Again, it’s not required that makeup artists get a license, but those who take an esthetics program will need to pass the written and practical examinations as mandated by the state of Massachusetts.

Combined, both exams will cover the following skill set and topics:

  • Infection control
  • Facials
  • Manipulations
  • Masque application
  • Exfoliation
  • Extraction
  • Tweezing
  • Waxing
  • Makeup application
  • Safety rules and regulations
  • Electricity and electrotherapy
  • Science and skin analysis

How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts currently offers an average annual pay rate of $24,260 which is higher than most states according to

Does Massachusetts Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?

Massachusetts does not have licensing requirements for makeup artists, so there is no license to renew or continuing education credits to monitor. However, those who earn an esthetician license will need to renew their license every two years, pay a $68 renewal fee, but also have no continuing education requirements.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
1000 Washington Street 7th Floor, Boston, MA 02118
Email: [email protected]
Call: 617-701-8792