Skip to content
Home » Makeup Schools Near You » Makeup Schools in Colorado

Makeup Schools in Colorado

If you’re looking for a creative and challenging career, consider makeup school. Colorado is home to some of the best makeup schools in the country, and applications are now being accepted for the upcoming semester.

Makeup artistry is a rapidly growing industry, and there are many opportunities for talented professionals. The best makeup schools will teach you everything you need to know about beauty and fashion trends, color theory, skincare, and more.

Below you will find a list of the top makeup schools located in Colorado as well as career information and advice.

Makeup Schools in Colorado

State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Colorado

  • Must be an esthetics license holder within Colorado with proof of passing a licensed course with a minimum of 600 hours of instruction.
  • Esthetician license renewal every even-numbered year.

How Much Do Colorado Makeup Schools Cost?

The national average cost for makeup schools is $8,317 when you factor in the cost of tuition, fees, books, and supplies. You’ll find that most schools in Colorado will have similar pricing. However, you can sometimes reduce your overall educational expense with grants, scholarships, or other forms of financial aid. You can inquire with a school’s financial aid department to learn more. As an example of your costs, here’s the pricing for one school in Denver:

  • Tuition: $7,000
  • Student Kit: $1,500 (nonrefundable)
  • Total: $8,500

…and here’s the pricing for another school in Parker, CO:

  • Application Fee: $100
  • Tuition: $7,300
  • Deluxe Student Kit & book Set: $800
  • Total Cost: $8,200

Required Skills and Classes

As a licensed esthetician, you’re expected to have finished a six hundred-hour (20 credit hours) program as a minimum that includes the following areas of study:

  • Management, ethics, interpersonal skills, and salesmanship
  • Laws, rules, and regulation
  • Hair removal
  • Facials and skincare
  • Facial makeup
  • Disinfection, cleaning, and safe work practices

Professionals in this field are expected to perform the following services:

  • Give facials
  • Apply makeup
  • Apply eyelashes
  • Provide skincare services
  • Beautify the face, neck, torso, bust, and arms with cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, lotions, creams, and tonics
  • Remove hair on the body using depilatories, waxing, or tweezers

State Licensing Exams

Makeup school graduates must pass the two licensure exams (written and practical) before being granted a license to work. The process of registering and testing is done via PSI.

After accomplishing all of the aforementioned requirements, you will be granted the license and practice makeup artistry.

How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Colorado?

In Colorado, professional makeup artists can earn an average salary of $22,165 according to The top 10% of makeup artists do substantially better, however, earning a salary of over $32,000.

Does Colorado Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?

Working as makeup artist in Colorado does not require that you complete continuing education credits. You will, however, need to renew your license by March 31st of every even-numbered year and pay the renewal fee. Many makeup artists do take continuing education credits, even though they’re not required, so as to keep their skills sharp while staying up to date on the latest laws, regulations, and sanitation practices.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure
Address: 1560 Broadway Suite 1350, Denver, CO 80202
Email: [email protected]
Call: 303-894-7800
Fax: 303-894-0364