If you’re interested in becoming a licensed hairstylist in the state of Vermont, you’ll need to complete an accredited hair school program. Once you’ve completed the program and passed the state licensing exam, you’ll be ready to start your career. But is it a good job to have?
There are many advantages to being a hairstylist. For starters, it’s a creative profession that allows you to express your creativity through your work. You also have the opportunity to build relationships with your clients, and many stylists develop strong bonds with their regulars. Additionally, hair styling is a relatively low-stress profession, and many stylists report high levels of job satisfaction.
This site is designed to help inform you about the process for earning your license in Vermont and also to provide you with a database of hair schools near you to help you find the right program.
Hair Schools in Vermont
|id||keyword||barber||cosmetology||esthetician||hair||makeup||nail||beauty||general||School Specialties||School Name||full_address||Street Address||City||State||Zip Code||plus_code||Website||Phone Number||latitude||longitude||latlong||Learning Environment||Rating||Reviews||5star||4star||3star||2star||1star||Image||Pricing||Description||hours||hours_info||Monday Hours||Tuesday Hours||Wednesday Hours||Thursday Hours||Friday Hours||Saturday Hours||Sunday Hours||Schools in This Area||Details|
|681||barber schools in Vermont||1||1||1||1||0||1||0||0||Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetician, Hair, Nail||O'Briens Aveda Institute||400 Cornerstone Dr #220, Williston, VT 05495||400 Cornerstone Dr #220||Williston||VT||05495||CVWW+VW Williston, Vermont||https://obriensavedainstitute.org||(802) 876-7044||44||-73||4.5||25 reviews||0||0||3||9AM to 6PM|
|School Specialties||School Name||City||Zip Code|
Schools in This Area:
State Requirements for Hairstylist Licensing in Vermont
For first-time hairdressers, there’s a clear set of requirements set forth by Vermont that you must meet before earning your license to practice.
- Be at least 18 years old
- Complete an online application and pay the required fee
- Have a high school diploma or GED
- Complete a state-sanctioned cosmetology program with proof of 1,500 hours of coursework in cosmetology
- Once the previous steps are complete you can apply to take the state’s written, practical, and law exams – once approved you will receive a letter and you can schedule your exam dates and times with Professional Credential Service (PCS).
- Once you pass the exams you will have completed everything necessary to earn a Vermont cosmetology license and begin working as a hairdresser
Another option for licensure is to do an apprenticeship, which allows you to skip taking a cosmetology program. If you go this route you’ll need to show proof of working for 24 months under a licensed cosmetologist.
If you’ve already been licensed in another state you can apply for a license by endorsement on the Secretary of State website.
How Much Do Vermont Hair Schools Cost?
Like most higher learning programs, the school you choose will dictate the price. In general, though, you can expect to pay in the neighborhood of $13,000 for tuition when you sign up for a hair school in Vermont. You’ll also want to budget for books and supplies which will usually cost between $2,000 and $3,000. Some schools may include those costs in their tuition, so be sure to ask when you’re doing your research.
Required Skills and Classes
The beauty school you sign up for will have two primary goals. One of course is to make you a successful hairstylist. But before you can do that, you’ll need to pass Vermont’s state exams. Fortunately, your school will have a curriculum designed to help you do both of those things. While every program is different, you can expect to take classes and learn skills such as:
- Haircutting and styling
- Shampooing, conditioning, and rinsing
- Hair removal
- Makeup artistry
- Manicures and pedicures
- Interpersonal skills
- Professional ethics
Some schools may also offer courses on career development or entrepreneurship. If these areas are important to you, be sure to inquire about these sorts of courses when you do your research.
State Licensing Exam
Vermont requires aspiring hairstylists to pass three exams:
- Written theory
- State law
The fee to take all three is $275. If you fail an exam, you will have to pay a fee to retake each of them, $155 for the written theory exam, $140 for the practical, and $90 for the state law exam.
The written theory exam will cover your knowledge and understanding of the concepts and practical applications learned in your apprenticeship or cosmetology program. The practical exam covers core services supplied by hairdressers and cosmetologists, where you’ll need to demonstrate on a mannequin head and hand. Services you’ll need to demonstrate include:
- Set up and client protection
- Thermal curling
- Chemical waving
- Virgin hair lightening application and color retouch
- Virgin relaxer application and relaxer retouch
- Basic facial
- Sculptured nail
The state law exam, as you would expect, focuses on the laws and regulatory requirements for cosmetologists in Vermont.
How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Vermont?
The average annual salary for hairstylists in Vermont is $28,270 according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. That works out to an hourly salary of $13.59.
Does Vermont Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists?
Vermont does not require hairstylists to obtain continuing education credits to maintain their licenses. However, many choose to take them periodically to sharpen their skills and stay up to date on the latest styles, techniques, and regulations. While there are no continuing ed requirements, you will need to renew your license every two years and pay the $130 fee. You can renew on the online services section of the SoS website.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
In Vermont, hairstylist licensing is managed by the Office of Professional Regulation. Should you need to contact them we’ve made their contact information available below.