Many people are drawn to the hair styling industry because it offers a creative outlet and the opportunity to build long-lasting relationships with clients. If you’re thinking about becoming a hair stylist, you’ll need to complete a training program at a hair school in Utah. The good news is that there are many quality programs to choose from, and they will help you prepare for the state licensing exam.
Once you’re licensed, you’ll be able to work in a variety of settings, including salons, spas, and hotels. And, because hair stylists are always in demand, you’ll have plenty of job opportunities to choose from. This site is designed to help you find a hair school near you and inform you about the ins and outs of becoming a hairstylist. Continue reading to learn more.
Hair Schools in Utah
State Requirements for Hairstylist Licensing in Utah
There are a few different ways to obtain a hairstylist license in Utah. If you’ve already been licensed in another state, you can apply for a license through reciprocity using the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing online portal.
If you’re looking to earn your license for the first time you’ll need to either attend a licensed beauty school in Utah or complete an apprenticeship under a licensed cosmetologist. If you take the classroom route, you’ll need to complete an accredited program and 1,600 classroom hours. An apprenticeship requires at least 2,500 documented hours.
Once you’ve completed your course or apprenticeship you’ll need to apply for the state exams, pay the requisite fees, and pass them. At that point, you can apply for your license, and assuming everything is in order, you’ll be able to work as a hairstylist in the great state of Utah.
How Much Do Utah Hair Schools Cost?
Cost can be a determining factor in which program students decide, or if they’ll even choose to attend a hair school. Fortunately, there are a decent number of options in Utah for students to choose from. According to the website collegetuitioncompare.com a typical 12 or 13-month program will cost just under $15,000 in Utah. Tack on roughly $2,000 more for supplies and books and you’re looking at a total cost of around $17,000. While that price might be steep, some programs offer financial aid packages, or you can pursue scholarships and/or grants to reduce your costs.
Required Skills and Classes
A hairdresser needs to have a wide range of skills and you’ll get a well-rounded education at any accredited beauty school in Utah. Your program will prepare you for the state’s exams and also for the day-to-day requirements of being a hairstylist. As you’ll be attending a cosmetology school, you’ll be learning about more than just hair. A typical curriculum will cover topics like:
- Business management: bookkeeping, marketing, ethics, communication
- Anatomy, physiology, and biology
- Haircutting, styling, coloring, waving, straightening, and more
- Nail care
- Skin care
- Makeup application
- Proper technique for equipment usage
- Laws and regulations
- Sanitation and safety
State Licensing Exam
Utah’s licensing exams were developed by the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC). Like most states, Utah requires aspiring hairstylists and cosmetologists to pass a written theory exam and demonstrate their skills in a practical exam.
What’s unique about Utah is that they also require a two-hour course and exam on hair safety that requires a 75% score or better to pass.
Once you’ve completed your Utah hair school program or apprenticeship you can schedule your exams (available online here).
The written test scores you on 100 questions to be completed in 90 minutes. You’ll need to be well-versed in the following topics covered on the test:
- Infection control and safety
- Human anatomy and physiology
- Chemistry used in cosmetology
- Hair care services
- Skin care services
- Nail care services
The practical exam requires you to bring your own mannequin and equipment, and then demonstrate skills such as:
- Work place and station setup for clients
- Thermal curling
- Chemical waving
- Hair predisposition testing
- Highlighting hair
- Hair color retouch
- Virgin hair relaxer application
- Blood exposure safety and sanitation procedures
- Performing a facial
- Eyebrow tweezing and waxing
- Nail sculpting
If you are able to pass the exams, you’ll just need to submit your application, pay the applicable fees and you’re on your way to being a certified hairstylist in Utah.
How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Utah?
In Utah, the average hourly wage for a hairstylist is $13.91 which works out to $28,920 annually. Those numbers come from the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ most recent data from May 2021.
Does Utah Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists?
Unlike some other states, Utah does not require continuing education credits to maintain a valid license for hairstylists and cosmetologists. There can be professional benefits to increasing your knowledge base and skills, but at the bare minimum, you’ll just need to renew your license every two years and pay the $52 fee. You can access the Utah online license renewal portal here.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
Utah’s hairstylist licensing is managed by the Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. For specific questions on licensing you can contact them using the following information.
Website: Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (801) 530-6628