Skip to content
Home » Hair Schools Near You » Hair Schools in Texas

Hair Schools in Texas

If you’re considering a career in hair design, then Texas is the place to be. With its large population and diverse range of styles, there’s a great demand for hairstylists in the Lone Star State. And with so many hair schools to choose from, you can get the training you need to start your career in no time.

The benefits of being a hairstylist are numerous, from the satisfaction of making people look and feel their best to the flexible hours and creative freedom that the job offers. So if you’re passionate about hair and fashion, a career in hair design might just be perfect for you.

To learn more about the requirements of becoming a hairstylist in Texas, keep reading! We’ve put together a bunch of information to help you learn what it takes to become a hairstylist and where you can find a hair school near you in Texas.

Hair Schools in Texas

State Requirements for Hairstylist Licensing in Texas

In Texas, if you want to work as a licensed hairstylist you’ll have to complete a beauty school program that’s approved by the state licensing commission. This will include a minimum of 1,000 classroom hours. There’s also the option for high school students to complete 1,000 classroom hours in conjunction with 500 hours of vocational training at their school.

Once you’ve finished 900 of your required 1,000 hours you’ll be notified of the option to schedule your written cosmetology exam. Upon finishing your 1,000 hours, you’ll be notified that you can schedule your practical exam. If you are able to pass both exams you’ll be able to send in your license application along with the $50 fee and obtain your Texas cosmetology license which will allow you to work as a hairstylist.

Please note, you must be at least 17 years old to apply for a license.

How Much Do Texas Hair Schools Cost?

Being such a large state it’s not surprising that Texas has a lot of options when it comes to beauty schools. Not surprisingly, the cost of tuition can really vary depending on which school(s) you look into. In general, however, you’ll find a range of tuition prices that will fall between $8,000 on the low end and around $16,000 on the higher end for programs that run between seven and thirteen months. You’ll also want to budget additional funds for supplies and books, as that’s not always baked into the tuition costs. On average, those costs usually add up to around $1,700.

Even these lower costs can be a lot to take on, so it can be worthwhile to do some research to see if you can find a scholarship or a grant to help you with the total costs. Some national programs have financial aid offices, so you may want to look into that as well before making your decision.

Required Skills and Classes

Becoming a hairstylist in Texas requires that you earn your cosmetology degree. This means you’ll need to be versed in a variety of topics to prepare you to pass the Texas cosmetology exams and provide top notch hair and cosmetology services. As you work through your program you’ll take courses such as:

  • Haircutting
  • Hair styling
  • Hair coloring
  • Waving and relaxing hair
  • Anatomy
  • Chemistry
  • Makeup application
  • Scalp treatments
  • Nail care
  • Ethics
  • Laws and regulations for cosmetologists in Texas

When you’ve completed your course you’ll have been exposed to everything you need to know to pass the state’s written and practical exams.

State Licensing Exam

The cosmetology exam for hairdressers in Texas is ran by PSI, a third party vendor who offers testing at locations across the state. As you work through your beauty school program, you will receive notifications from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation on when you can schedule the two required exams – the practical and written tests. You can find the online scheduling tool here.

The fee for the written exam is $55 and the practical exam is $76.

You can choose to take the written test at home on your computer or at a PSI testing center. The test itself is 120 minutes long and has 100 scored questions. There are also 10 non-scored items on the test that you are allotted an additional 10 minutes to complete. The written test covers:

  • Licensing and regulation
  • Invection control
  • Hair and scalp care
  • Nail care
  • Skin care

A score of 70 is required to pass the written exam.

The practical exam requires you to bring your own equipment, including a mannequin to perform on for your evaluation. You’ll need to demonstrate competency in areas such as:

  • Client setup and disinfection
  • Monomer and polymer over tip
  • Blood exposure incident
  • Eyelash strip application
  • Facial
  • Waxing service
  • Haircut
  • Permanent waving
  • Blow drying and thermal curling
  • Chemical services (foil highlights, virgin relaxer, relaxer retouch)

You’ll have 3 hours and 45 minutes to complete the exam and you’ll need to score a 70% (91 out of a possible 129 points) to pass.

You can learn more about the exams on the full exam bulletin.

How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Texas? 

According to the most recent numbers from the Bureau of Labor Statistics in 2021 the average annual salary for a hairstylist in Texas is $29,680, or $14.27 per hour.

Does Texas Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists? 

The renewal period for a cosmetology license in Texas is two years. In that time, the state requires that you complete four hours of continuing education credits from state-approved education courses to continue working as a hairdresser or cosmetologist. In addition, you’ll need to pay a $50 fee each renewal period.

You can renew your license online here.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Licensing for hairstylists and cosmetologists in Texas is managed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. For the latest information related to licensing, fees, testing, or renewals, you can contact them using the information below.

Website: Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Email: Contact form
Phone: (512) 463-6599