Skip to content
Home » Hair Schools Near You » Hair Schools in Oregon

Hair Schools in Oregon

Anyone who is interested in becoming a licensed hair stylist in the state of Oregon will need to complete an accredited hair school program. There are many hair schools across the state that offer programs that will prepare students for the licensing exam. A hairstylist is a great job to have for anyone who is creative and enjoys working with people.

Stylists often work in salons and spas, providing hair services and other cosmetology offerings to clients. They may also work in hair product stores, providing demonstrations and helping customers choose the right products for their hair type. Hair stylists typically work regular hours, although they may be required to work evenings or weekends to accommodate their clients’ schedules. Some hair stylists also travel to their clients’ homes or workplaces to provide their services. If you’re looking for some flexibility, you’ll likely be able to find an employer who can accommodate you, or you can work for yourself. This site is designed to help you learn more about becoming a hairstylist and researching hair schools near you. Check out all of our listings to learn more.

Hair Schools in Oregon

State Requirements for Hairstylist Licensing in Oregon

Oregon has a number of requirements a candidate must meet before earning a hair design license in the state. You’ll need to attend a state licensed career school and take 1,110 hours of coursework in hair design, with 455 practical operations completed. You’ll also need 20 hours of verified instruction on Oregon’s laws and rules for hair design as well as 20 more hours of training on career development.

At the end of your program you will take a practical examination to prove your hair design skills. Once you’ve completed your program and passed the exam you’ll be able to submit your transcripts and testing information to the Oregon Health Licensing Office, pay the testing fee and schedule your written examination and the Oregon Laws and Rules exam.

If you’ve already been licensed in another state, you can apply for a license through reciprocity. You’ll need to talk to the licensing authority in your previous state and get proof of licensure, then send it to:

Health Licensing Office
1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180
Salem, OR 97301

Once the HLO has verified your license you can schedule your written examinations. Once you’ve passed your exam you’ll only need to pay your initial license fee and then you will receive your license and be certified to work in Oregon.

How Much Do Oregon Hair Schools Cost?

The average tuition for a hair design school in Oregon will typically cost between $16,000 and $18,000. Keep in mind, most schools will not include the cost of books and supplies with tuition, so that can sometimes add another $3,000 or $4,000 onto your total cost. Be sure to inquire about these types of “hidden” fees when you are researching schools.

Required Skills and Classes

One of the nice things about attending a hair school in Oregon is that they will teach to the exam, which is a necessary step to earning your hair design license. This means they’ll focus heavily on the skills and knowledge you need to pass the practical, written, and legal exams required to get your license. You’ll get plenty of hands-on time honing your craft and also a healthy amount of theory on topics like:

  • Scalp and hair anatomy
  • Hair styling
  • Haircutting
  • Shampooing and rinsing
  • Salon operations
  • Hair curling, waving, straightening, coloring, lightening
  • Sterilization and patient safety
  • Proper usage of tools

One area where many programs differ is the depth in which they dive into the business side of being a hairstylist. If you want to be an independent contractor or open your own salon, be sure to research which schools focus on topics like bookkeeping, marketing, and management. Those skills will be critical if you want to go into business for yourself.

State Licensing Exam

As mentioned previously, Oregon has three exams you must pass to earn your hair design license. Your license career school will administer your practical examination to the Higher Education coordination Commission’s (HECC) standards. The test is designed to make sure you are competent in everything from patient setup to sterilization and cleanup. In between, of course, you’ll need to demonstrate a full range of hairstyling skills.

The written examination will cover the theoretical information you covered in class as well as test your knowledge of various hair design and hair care topics. The laws and rules exam, not surprisingly, covers Oregon’s rules and regulations for hairstylists. Each exam has a $45 fee you must pay before you can take the test.

How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Oregon? 

Hairstylists in Oregon not only get to enjoy the natural beauty of the Pacific Northwest, but they can also make a healthy wage. The most recent salary info from the Bureau of Labor Statistics reported the average hourly pay for a hairstylist in Oregon is $15.81 per hour or $32,880 annually.

Does Oregon Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists? 

The Oregon Health Licensing Office does not require that hairstylists complete a set amount of continuing education credits to go with their biannual renewals. Though, many practitioners do regularly complete continuing ed courses to improve their skills and stay up to date on Oregon’s rules and regulations. Though there are no requirements for continuing education credits, there is a $65 renewal fee that must be paid with each renewal.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

In Oregon, licensing for hairstylists is handled by the state’s health licensing office. You can contact them using the information below.

Website: Oregon Board of Cosmetology’s Health Licensing Office
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (503) 378-8667