Skip to content
Home » Hair Schools Near You » Hair Schools in Missouri

Hair Schools in Missouri

Missouri is a great place to start a career in hair design! The state is home to many hair schools that can provide the training you need to become a successful stylist. In addition, Missouri offers a variety of benefits for hairstylists, including a competitive salary, flexible hours, and the opportunity to work with a diverse group of clients.

Whether you’re looking to start your own hair salon or simply want to work as a stylist in an existing one, Missouri is the perfect place to begin your career in hair design!

Hair Schools in Missouri

State Requirements for Hairstylist Licensing in Missouri

In order to become a licensed hairstylist in Missouri, you’ll need to complete a hair school program that includes a minimum of 1,500 hours of training and pass the state licensing exam. Hair school programs typically take around 12 months to complete, and during that time you’ll learn about hair cutting, styling, coloring, and other hair care techniques.

If you’d prefer, you can also apply for an apprenticeship. After 3,000 apprentice hours, you can also apply to take the state licensing exam.

Once you’ve completed hair school, you’ll need to apply for and pass the state licensing exam in order to obtain your license. You’ll need to be at least 17 years old to sit for the state exam. The state exam is comprised of a written portion and a practical portion, and you must pass both sections in order to be licensed. Once you’ve passed the exam and obtained your license, you’ll have to pay your licensing fee, and then you’ll be able to work as a hairstylist in Missouri.

How Much Do Missouri Hair Schools Cost?

Depending on the school you choose, your tuition can vary greatly depending on the Missouri hair school you attend. On the low-cost end of the spectrum, you can find technical schools with tuition for around $7,500. Some of the high-end beauty programs in the state, however, can cost up to $20,000. Keep in mind you may have additional costs for books and supplies, so factor that into your budgeting as well.

Required Skills and Classes

During your training, you’ll learn about the different types of hair, how to cut and style hair, and how to use hair coloring products. You’ll also learn about the different hair care treatments available, such as hair straightening and hair extensions. In addition to these technical skills, you’ll also develop strong customer service skills, as you’ll be working on enhancing your knowledge of safety requirements and Missouri state laws for hairdressers and cosmetologists.

You’ll spend many hours across a variety of topics with a lot of focus on:

  • Curling hair
  • Coloring and bleaching hair
  • Cutting and shaping hair
  • Styling methods
  • Manicures and nail treatments
  • Permanents
  • Hair relaxing

Some programs will also offer more focus on business skills for hairdressers interested in working independently or running their own salon one day.

State Licensing Exam

The written theory portion of your examination can be scheduled online via the PSI Exam website, as they are the provider for Missouri’s licensing tests. You’ll need to schedule each test separately. A score of 75 or better is required to pass each test. You will receive a printout of your score immediately after the written theory exam, but your practical score will be mailed to you, typically within 10 days of completing your test.

The practical test will require you to demonstrate everything from setup and client protection to specific skills like curling, cutting, and styling hair.

The theory exam will test you on your knowledge of everything from the anatomy and biology you learned in your hair school program as well as your knowledge of the procedures you’ll demonstrate in your practical exam.

How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Missouri?

According to the most recent data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics numbers from May 2021, the average annual salary for a hairstylist in Missouri is $36,420, or $17.51 per hour.

Does Missouri Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists? 

In Missouri hairstylists and cosmetologists do not need to earn continuing education credits to retain licensure during their two-year license renewal cycle. However, it can be professionally beneficial to make sure you stay up to date on the latest requirements for sanitation, laws, and new techniques that might help you make more money.

The renewal fee in Missouri is $50 for hairdressers, which is paid every odd year on September 30th. The state should send you a renewal form prior to expiration for you to complete and send in your fee.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

If you need to contact the licensing board in Missouri, you can reach the Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners using the following information.

Website: Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (866) 762-9432