Skip to content
Home » Hair Schools Near You » Hair Schools in Michigan

Hair Schools in Michigan

If you’re considering a career in hair design, you’ll want to take a close look at what Michigan has to offer. Home to some of the best hair schools in the country, Michigan is the perfect place to start your career in this ever-changing industry. From cutting-edge training programs to ample opportunities for networking and job growth, Michigan has everything you need to start your journey as a successful hairstylist.

And with large metropolitan areas like Detroit and Grand Rapids to go along with a thriving tourist industry, you’ll be able to serve clients from all over the country. So whether you’re looking for a fresh start or simply want to further your career in hair design, consider enrolling in a hair school in Michigan today.

Hair Schools in Michigan

State Requirements for Hairstylist Licensing in Michigan

To become a hairstylist in Michigan you need to earn your cosmetology license. To do this, you’ll need to enroll in an accredited cosmetology school or do a two-year apprenticeship. The cosmetology school must include a minimum of 1,500 hours of classroom time. You’ll also need to be at least 17 years old to enroll in a program.

Once you’ve successfully completed your coursework or apprenticeship, you’ll need to apply for your license and pay your application fee – which you can do online via eLicense.

After that, you’ll need to sign up for the two-part cosmetology exam which includes both a practical and theory exam. You can pay for each exam individually at $93 each, or combine them and get a discounted price of $167.

How Much Do Michigan Hair Schools Cost?

Tuition costs for hair schools in Michigan have a wide range. On the low end, you can find some programs with tuition fees that come in under $10,000 while some programs can charge up to nearly $22,000. There can be a lot of additional fees to consider beyond tuition, so be sure to do your homework on costs for supplies and books, which can sometimes add up to a few thousand more dollars if not included in your tuition. Programs can also vary in length and job placement rates, so be sure to look into that and not just settle on whichever Michigan hair school is near you or has the lowest price.

Required Skills and Classes

Your cosmetology program will put a lot of coursework and class time into covering the topics you’ll need to know to pass the Michigan theory and practical exams. That means you’ll spend time learning about and practicing techniques for hair coloring and cutting, styling, waxing, manicures, chemical relaxing, and more.

Beyond those somewhat obvious skills and courses, you’ll also learn critical elements to working as a hairdresser like safety and sanitation, managing customer service, as well as Michigan’s regulations and laws for cosmetologists.

Some programs will have a lot of emphasis on the business side of being a hairstylist in Michigan as well. You’ll take classes on bookkeeping, salon management, marketing and promotion, and other valuable skills to help you successfully run a business.

State Licensing Exam

You’ll need a score of 70 percent or better to pass the theory portion of the Michigan cosmetology exam. The practical portion requires a score of 75 or better. The practical portion of the test gives you 190 minutes to complete it, while the theory exam must be completed in 120 minutes.

If you fail on your first try you can retake one section of the exam for $93, or if you must retake both it will cost $167.

If you need to reschedule or cancel an exam appointment, you’ll need to do it two days in advance.

The test is administered by PSI Exams, a nationwide testing provider. You can find updated details on their website here.

How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Michigan?

The average hourly salary for a hairstylist in Michigan is $21.19, or $44,070 annually. That’s according to the most recent data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics in May of 2021.

Does Michigan Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists? 

Michigan does not have a required number of continuing education credits to renew a hairdresser license or a cosmetology license in Michigan. Though, it is advisable to go to an accredited provider to learn new skills, techniques, and styles so that you can better serve your clients and also make yourself more marketable. While there aren’t any CEU requirements, you will need to pay a $48 fee every two years along with your license renewal.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

If you need to contact the licensing board for hairstylists in Michigan the contact information for that department is as follows:

Website: Michigan Board of Cosmetology
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (517) 241-0199