Skip to content
Home » Hair Schools Near You » Hair Schools in Massachusetts

Hair Schools in Massachusetts

Are you passionate about hair design and want to turn your talents into a career? If so, then becoming a hair stylist in Massachusetts could be the perfect choice for you. As a hair stylist, you will have the opportunity to use your creativity to make your clients look and feel their best. You will also build strong relationships with your clients, as they will often come to you for advice on hair care and styling.

The state is home to some of the most prestigious hair design programs in the country, and graduates of these programs often go on to find successful careers in the hair industry. In addition to receiving a top-notch education, students who attend hair design school in Massachusetts also have the opportunity to network with other aspiring hair professionals and learn from some of the best stylists in the business.

Hair Schools in Massachusetts

State Requirements for Hairstylist Licensing in Massachusetts

Massachusetts doesn’t have a specific licensing program for hairstylists, they fall under the same licensing requirements as cosmetologists. That means you’ll need to complete a state-certified cosmetology school with a minimum of 1,000 hours of classroom time. In order to take part in a program, you’ll need to be at least 17 years old and have a 10th grade education.

One unique thing about the education and training requirements in Massachusetts is that there are tiers. The lowest level is an Operator Type 2, that’s where you’ll start. To move up to a full-blown hairdresser and cosmetologist, you’ll need to earn your Type 2 certification and then work for two years under the supervision of a licensed hairdresser or cosmetologist before you can work unsupervised.

First, of course, you’ll need to pass your certification program. After that, you’ll need to apply for and pass the Massachusetts Cosmetology Exam which is administered by Pearson Vue testing services. There are two parts to the exam, the practical and written portions, and you must pass each. Once you’ve done that you can apply for and gain your Type 2 license. You’ll need to renew every two years on your birthday.

How Much Do Massachusetts Hair Schools Cost?

Massachusetts has some great values for earning your license at technical schools and vocational schools. You can earn your license at some of these schools around the state for less than $7,000 in tuition fees. Keep in mind, you may incur additional costs from books and supplies of several hundred to several thousands of dollars. Make sure you inquire about those costs when you talk to a representative from any of these programs.

Required Skills and Classes

You’ll get a wide-ranging education as you earn your Type 2 license at whichever program you choose to attend. While every program is a little different, all of them will focus on teaching you the necessary knowledge and skills you’ll need to pass the Massachusetts state exam for cosmetologists. Typically programs will cover the following topics as well as many other courses.

  • Nail care
  • Haircutting
  • Chemical relaxing
  • Hair design
  • Skin care
  • Safety and sanitation
  • Customer service
  • State laws and regulations
  • Business administration and marketing

State Licensing Exam

As mentioned above, there are two sections to the Massachusetts exam for aspiring hairstylists. The written portion of the exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions and you’ll need to score a 75 or better to pass.

The practical portion exam requires you to perform 16 skills within an allotted time of 210 minutes. Common skills you will be tested on include hair coloring, braiding, manicures, applying makeup, performing facials, and infection control and safety, among others. You’ll need to score 80 percent or better to pass.

If you pass both exams you will need to pay your initial licensing fee of $68 to gain your license.

How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Massachusetts?

Working as a hairstylist in Massachusetts can be very lucrative. The state has the second highest for hairstylists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics data from May 2021. The average annual salary for a hairstylist in Massachusetts is $44,240, with an average hourly rate of $21.27.

Does Massachusetts Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists? 

Massachusetts does not require hairstylists or cosmetologists to complete any continuing education credits to renew their licenses. However, they are offered at most schools and it can be valuable to help keep your skills and style sharp – which in turn can help you make more money. You will need to renew your license every two years on your birthday and pay the $68 license fee.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

In Massachusetts, licenses are managed by the Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering. You can reach them using the following contact information.

Website: Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (617) 701-8792