Skip to content
Home » Hair Schools Near You » Hair Schools in Louisiana

Hair Schools in Louisiana

A hairstylist in Louisiana can enjoy a career that is both creative and rewarding. The state is home to a number of hair design schools that can provide the training necessary to become a licensed stylist. Louisiana also offers several metropolitan areas with lots of opportunities for stylists to work in salons and spas. 

The climate in Louisiana is also ideal for hairstylists, as the warm weather helps to keep hair healthy and shiny. As a result, a career as a hairstylist in Louisiana can be an excellent choice for those who are interested in the beauty industry.

Hair Schools in Louisiana

State Requirements for Hairstylist Licensing in Louisiana

There are some minimum requirements you’ll need to meet prior to earning the necessary cosmetology license to work as a hairstylist in Louisiana. First, you’ll need to enroll in and complete an accredited program with a minimum of 1,500 hours. You’ll need to be at least 16 years old to be admitted to a program.

There are two national exams you’ll need to pass as well to earn your license. You can take the written exam after completing 1,000 hours of your cosmetology program but you’ll need to complete the entire thing before you can apply for and take the practical exam. The exams are from the National Interstate Council and are administered by the Louisiana Board of Cosmetology. The written exam is 90 minutes long while the practical exam takes three hours.

You’ll also need to take a state exam focusing on Louisiana’s local laws for cosmetologists. Your cosmetology program will help you schedule this exam once you’ve completed your hours.

There’s a fee for each of the exams and you’ll also need to pay an initial license fee with your application of $25 before you receive your license.

If you’re getting a license for the first time, you will receive your license once you’ve passed your exam. If you’ve previously held a license in another state you can apply with the state board for a license based on reciprocity.

How Much Do Louisiana Hair Schools Cost?

The website College Tuition Compare lists a range of schools and their prices in Louisiana which have tuition ranging from as low as $9,000 up to nearly $25,000. In addition, some programs will incur additional costs for books and supplies, which can add up to $5,000 in additional expenses.

Required Skills and Classes

Becoming a hairdresser in Louisiana means you’re going to have to learn all the typical skills you’d expect for the position. This includes topics like shampooing, using hair chemicals, hair shaping, rinsing, conditioning, and hair design. As you’ll be taking a full cosmetology program that means you’ll also be completing other topics such as:

  • Applying makeup
  • Manicures
  • Facials
  • Infection control
  • State-specific rules and regulations for cosmetologists
  • Facilities management
  • Ethics

While you may not be interested in some of the non-hair topics, it does make you more marketable as you look for a job or may offer you additional skills you can sell if you go into business for yourself.

State Licensing Exam

The NIC exams administered by the Louisiana Board of Cosmetology include a 90-minute written exam and a three-hour practical exam. The practical exam will run you through testing all the cosmetology duties you’ve learned such as haircutting, hair lightening, chemical waving, curling, setup, cleanup, and more. You’ll need to score a 75% to pass both tests. You’ll receive your results approximately two weeks after you’ve finished the exam.

Louisiana is unique in that they also have a separate state test that you must pass that covers the state’s rules and regulations for cosmetologists. Your hair school program will help you schedule this exam.

The national written test fee is $83, and the state and practical tests cost $25 apiece.

How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Louisiana?

Louisiana ranks 47th in pay for hairstylists in the United States with an average hourly wage of $13.35 and an annual average of $27,760. These numbers come from the Bureau of Labor Statistics circa May 2021.

Does Louisiana Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists? 

While most programs offer continuing education courses, the state board in Louisiana does not require them for renewing your license. However, you will need to renew your license each year and pay a fee of $50 to stay current.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

The Louisiana Board of Cosmetology is the entity that issues and manages licenses for hairstylists and cosmetologists in the state. Their contact information is below.

Website: Louisiana Board of Cosmetology
Phone: (866) 257-7901