Skip to content
Home » Hair Schools Near You » Hair Schools in Georgia

Hair Schools in Georgia

Are you passionate about hair and beauty? Do you love making people look and feel their best? If so, a career as a hairstylist may be right for you! As a hairstylist in Georgia, you’ll have the opportunity to use your creativity and technical skills to provide clients with amazing hair transformations. You’ll also get to build strong relationships with your clients, and be a part of helping them feel their best. And, of course, becoming a hairstylist also comes with some great benefits. For example, many people in the industry set their own hours are their own boss, and there’s potential to earn a great income. Plus, with hair school options available across the state, it’s easier than ever to get started in this rewarding career!

Read on to learn more about the requirements for becoming a hairstylist in Georgia. We’ll walk you through the requirements for earning your license and what you can expect before, during, and after.

What are the state requirements for hairstylists in Georgia?

Hair design schools in Georgia require applicants to be at least 16 years old and have a minimum classroom requirement of 1,325 hours to be completed in no less than seven months. Alternatively, you can take an apprenticeship under the guidance of a licensed hair designer. If you take this route you’ll need to be at least 17 years old and you’ll need to complete 3,000 supervised hours.

The state exams are administered by PSI, a nationwide testing provider. You’ll need to pass both the practical and theory exams before you can submit an application for licensure from the Georgia Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. You’ll need to prove your citizenship, apply for your initial license and pay a license fee of $30. You can submit either online or mail a physical copy of the application to the Board.

Find a hair school near you in Georgia

How Much Do Hair Schools Cost in Georgia?

According to the average cost of a cosmetology program in Georgia in 2022 was just over $18,000 with additional costs for books and supplies averaging out to around $2,300. At the minimum, you’re probably looking at a minimum of $15,000 in total costs while the higher end of the spectrum could run you up to $25,000.

Required Skills and Classes

A lot of the focus of a hair design program, not surprisingly, is on practical skills like hair cutting and shaping. You’ll also receive instruction to learn about hair coloring, lightening, waving, and relaxing. You’ll also learn about industry standards for sanitation and sterilization as well as information on communicable diseases like HIV and AIDS.

Beyond those technical skills and safety precautions, you’ll learn soft skills to help you succeed like communication, professionalism, and social skills. Finally, you’ll learn about local laws and regulations as set forth by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers to ensure you stay in compliance. It’s a lot to learn, so it’s important you find a school that’s a good fit for you.

State Licensing Exam

After completing your required hours you can sit for the two exams. Once you’ve completed your state-accredited hair school program you’ll have to pass the hair designer exam. This has two parts, the practical exam which is 110 minutes, and the NIC hair design theory exam which is 90 minutes.

Exam fees are:

  • Practical: $64
  • Theory: $45

The theory exam can be taken on a computer, while the practical exam is in-person.

How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Georgia?

The average annual salary for a hairstylist in Georgia in 2022 was $37,420 according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics as of May 2021. The average hourly wage was $17.99. In all, Georgia hairstylist salaries ranked 13th in the nation.

Does Georgia Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists?

Georgia is a state that requires continuing education when hair designers renew their licenses. Fortunately, the requirement is a minimum of five hours to be completed every two years. Three hours are required on health and safety, while the other two hours are elective. There’s also a $50 fee to be paid with each license renewal, which must be completed by March 31st of every even-numbered year.

Contact Information for Licensing Board: Hairstylist licenses in Georgia are managed by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. You can find their contact information below.

Website: Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers
Email: Contact Form
Phone: (404) 424-9966