Skip to content
Home » Barber Schools Near You » Barber Schools in West Virginia

Barber Schools in West Virginia

The state of West Virginia offers a variety of barber schools to choose from, each offering a different environment and approach to learning. However, all schools will provide the necessary education and training needed to become a licensed barber in the state.

To become a licensed barber in West Virginia, individuals must complete an accredited barber program and pass the state licensing exam. Below you will find information on barber schools located in West Virginia, as well as helpful career information.

Barber Schools in West Virginia

State Requirements for Barber Licensing­ in West Virginia

In West Virginia, there are four stages that a barber must complete in order to work. The following are the steps you must complete:

  • Enroll in a barber school
  • Complete 1,200 hours of education
  • Pass the Written and Practical Barber Exams and the West Virginia State Law Exam
  • Renew your barber license every year

How Much Do West Virginia Barber Programs Cost?

The average cost of tuition for barber schools in West Virginia is $12,430.

Federal scholarships, grants, or loans are available to help students pay for a large portion of barbering program tuition. Inquire with the financial aid office at your chosen barbering school to see if you qualify for any grants, scholarships, or loan programs.

Paying for the cost of barber schools on your own isn’t a requirement. FAFSA, Pell Grants, scholarships, and low-interest loans are just a few of the options available to you. Contact your barber school’s financial aid department to learn more about other types of financing that may be accessible to you.

Required Skills and Classes

The West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists requires that barber schools provide 1,200 minimum hours of education. Most West Virginia barber school programs last approximately 10 months. Throughout barber school, you will learn a wide range of barbering concepts and services including but not limited to:

  • History of barbering
  • Haircutting
  • Hairstyling
  • Straight Razor Shaving
  • Facial Hair Trimming and Design
  • Properties and disorders of the hair, skin, and scalp
  • Hairpieces
  • Barbering Tools and Equipment
  • First Aid
  • Barbershop Management
  • West Virginia Barber Rules and Regulations

Your time will be split between theory learning, where you learn barbering services and concepts in a classroom setting, and practical learning, where you practice skills learned in a barbershop setting on mannequins, volunteers, and patrons.

State Licensing Exams

After completing the requirements of a barber school, candidates must pass the West Virginia State Law Exam and the Written and Practical Barber Exams before being able to apply for a barber license.

The exams are administered at the Huntington School of Beauty, which is located at:

5636 US Rt. 60 E, Suite 2
Huntington, WV 25705

Written Exam

West Virginia uses the NIC National Barber 1 written exam, which is made up of 50 multiple choice questions and 10 non-scored questions. Candidates have approximately 90 minutes to complete the exam, which consists of topics learned throughout barber school. The exam will be made up of the following sections:

  • Scientific Concepts – 20 questions
  • Implements and Equipment – 5 questions
  • Hair Care Services – 15 questions
  • Facial Hair and Skin Care Services – 10 questions

Practical Exam

Candidates have approximately 2 hours to complete the exam.

  1. Work Area and Client Preparation, And Set Up of Supplies
  2. Haircutting
  3. Work Area and New Client Preparation, And Set Up of Supplies
  4. Straight Razor Shaving
  5. Blood Exposure Procedure

West Virginia State Law Examination

Candidates must pass the West Virginia State Law Examination, which covers knowledge of rules and regulations relating to barbers and barbershops. Candidates have 30 minutes to complete the exam.

How Much Do Barbers Get Paid in West Virginia?

The average salary for barbers in West Virginia is $27,040 per year or $13.00 per hour.

Continuing Education Requirements

Barbers in West Virginia must complete four (4) total hours of continuing education every year to be eligible for a barber license renewal. Courses must be approved by the West Virginia Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists and topics may relate to subjects including:

  • Infection Control
  • Business Development
  • Barbering Services

How Do I Renew My Barber License?

Upon completing continuing education requirements, barbers can complete a license renewal application, which must be done once every year. The license can be renewed online and there is an application fee that must be paid when completing the renewal.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

The West Virginia Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists can be contacted with the following details:

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (304) 558-2924
Address: 1201 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, West Virginia, 25064