A successful career as a barber requires both formal training and real-world experience. Barber schools can give you the foundation you need to start your career.
If you are interested in becoming a barber in Oregon, you will need to attend a barber school that is licensed by the Oregon Board of Barbering Examiners. Along with assembling a list of accredited barber schools in Oregon, this guide provides helpful information about the steps you need to take to become a licensed barber in the state.
Barber Schools in Oregon
State Requirements for Barber Licensing in Oregon
Becoming a barber in Oregon involves a four-step process that can be completed within a year. The following is the procedure for becoming a barber in Oregon:
- Enroll in an Oregon barber school
- Complete 786 total hours of education
- Pass the Oregon barber practical exam and written barber exams
- Renew your license every two years
How Much Do Oregon Barber Programs Cost?
The estimated cost of tuition for barber schools in Oregon is between $5,000 and $12,000. Price differences are typically a result of whether the school provides a state-minimum level of education or if they exceed the state’s requirements.
Students are expected to pay for other costs including but not limited to a barber kit, basic barbering supplies, textbooks, study guides, and application fees for the barber exam and licensure.
Financial aid options are available to most barber school students. Examples of these opportunities include Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), scholarships offered by your barber school, Pell Grants, the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant, VA benefits, and direct subsidized loans. These financial aid options can greatly reduce the total cost of tuition at barber schools. Contact the financial aid office at your barber school to see how you may qualify for these options.
Required Skills and Classes
Barber schools are required by the Oregon Board of Cosmetology to provide a minimum of 764 barbering-related hours of education as well as 20 hours related to Oregon laws and rules, plus an additional 20 hours related to career development. This results in 786 total hours of education that must be provided by the barber school.
Many barber schools choose to provide more hours of education than the state’s minimum requirements, so it is not uncommon for barber schools to offer 900-1,000 hours of education to help give you the best chances of passing the barber exam and starting a successful career in barbering.
Of the total 764 barbering hours, at least 465 hours must be spent on practical hands-on learning, and the remaining 299 hours are spent on classroom-style learning.
Throughout barber school, you will learn barbering concepts and practice skills including but not limited to:
- Haircutting methods for men and women
- Barbering tools
- Facial services
- Straight razor shaving
- Facial hair trimming and design
- Bacteriology, sanitation, and safety
- Rules and regulations related to barbering in Oregon
State Licensing Exams
Upon successfully completing the education requirements of a barber school, candidates must pass three exams – the Practical Exam, the Written Exam, and the Oregon Laws and Rules Exam.
Candidates are first required to take and pass a barber practical examination before taking either of the written barber exams. The practical exam is typically administered by your barber school, and scores from the practical exam are valid for two years.
During the practical exam, you are required to demonstrate your ability to perform basic barbering services learned in barber school. Each barber school may have slightly different formats, but you will typically demonstrate a series of barber skills on a mannequin or a model in a specified period of time. All practical exams administered by Oregon barber schools must be approved by the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC).
The Oregon barber written exam consists of 100 questions that must be completed within 90 minutes. Questions range on a wide variety of topics There is a $45 fee required to take the written exam. A passing score of 75% or higher is required to pass this exam.
Oregon Laws and Rules Exam
Candidates will be tested on specific rules and regulations that must be followed as a licensed barber in Oregon. The exam consists of 100 questions that must be completed in 90 minutes. Candidates are encouraged to review and study the Board of Cosmetology’s Laws and Rules that relate to barbering. A passing score of 75% or higher is required to pass this exam. There is a $45 fee that must be paid to take this exam.
How Much Do Barbers Get Paid in Oregon?
The average salary for barbers in Oregon is $44,590 per year or $21.44 an hour according to the BLS.
Continuing Education Requirements
There are no continuing education requirements for licensed barbers in Oregon to renew their licenses.
How Do I Renew My Oregon Barber License?
Barber licenses in Oregon expire once every two years. They expire on the last day of the month when the license was originally issued. So if the license was issued on May 5, the license would expire a little over two years later on May 31.
Licenses can be renewed on the Oregon Board of Cosmetology website. There is a $40 renewal fee for barber licenses.
Barbers moving to Oregon can apply for licensure through reciprocity. To be eligible for licensure by reciprocity, you must have and complete the following:
- Proof of an active barber license from another state
- Pass both the written barber exam and the Oregon Laws and Rules exam
Contact the Oregon Board of Cosmetology for additional information or questions related to reciprocity.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
The Oregon Board of Cosmetology for Barbers can be reached with the following contact information:
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (503) 378-8667
Address: 1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180, Salem, OR 97301