Skip to content
Home » Barber Schools Near You » Barber Schools in North Dakota

Barber Schools in North Dakota

There are several barber schools located in the state of North Dakota. These schools can provide you with the necessary education and training to become a licensed barber. After completing an accredited barber program, you will be able to sit for the North Dakota state licensing exam.

Barber Schools in North Dakota

State Requirements for Barber Licensing­ in North Dakota

To work as a barber in North Dakota, you must go through the following activities to obtain a barber license and to keep it current:

  • Enroll in a barber school in North Dakota
  • Complete 1,500 hours of training and courses
  • Pass the barber exam
  • Apply for licensure through the North Dakota Board of Barber Examiners
  • Complete continuing education requirements
  • Renew your license annually

How Much Do North Dakota Barber Programs Cost?

The cost of tuition in barber schools in North Dakota can range from $9,000 to $13,000. Students must also finance their own housing and food, as well as provide their own haircutting instruments and kits. They are also responsible for any registration, application, or licensing expenditures associated with becoming a barber.

When applying to schools, be sure to talk with someone about financial aid options that may be available to you including federal grants, scholarships, and loan programs.

Required Skills and Classes

Barber schools in North Dakota require proof of a high school diploma or equivalent along with proof of age through a government-issued ID.

During barber school, you are required to complete a minimum of 1,500 hours, which consist of theoretical classroom hours and practical training hours.


Most North Dakota barber school programs spend approximately 200 hours on theoretical learning, which can relate to:

  • History of barbering
  • Sanitation and bacteriology
  • Barber equipment
  • Straight razor shaving
  • Hair cutting
  • Hair styling
  • Shampooing and rinsing
  • Anatomy pertaining to barbering services
  • Chemical services
  • State of North Dakota barber laws, rules and regulations


Most North Dakota barber school programs spend around 1,300 hours on practical training. This involves on-the-job training where students work directly with volunteers and barbershop customers.

Subjects practiced during practical training include but are not limited to:

  • Hair cutting
  • Shaving
  • Facial hair trimming
  • Shampooing and rinsing
  • Scalp and hair treatment
  • Facial treatment
  • Hair tonic applications
  • Perm waving
  • Chemical services – coloring, tinting, dyeing, and bleaching

Hours are tracked by the student as well as the barber school. A log of hours must be approved and signed by the barber school supervisor. Once minimum hour requirements are met and the student has completed the requirements set by the barber school, they are eligible to take the barber exam.

State Licensing Exams

Most barber schools in North Dakota allow both the written and practical exams to be taken at their physical location. The North Dakota barber exam consists of a written and practical section.


The North Dakota written exam tests an applicant’s knowledge of barbering concepts and topics learned in barber school. The exam must be completed in two hours and it consists of true and false, multiple choice, and essay style questions.


For the practical exam, applicants are required to demonstrate their ability to demonstrate and perform certain barbering services on a model. It is expected that the applicant supplies a model to be used for the exam, as well as basic barbering equipment such as a barber kit. The practical exam must be completed in two (2) hours and consists of the following sections:

  1. Taper Haircut
  2. Straight Razor Shave
  3. Facial and Scalp Massage
  4. Shampoo
  5. Clean Up

How Much Do Barbers Get Paid in North Dakota?

Barbers in North Dakota make on average $32,040 a year or approximately $15.40 an hour.

Continuing Education Requirements

The North Dakota Board of Barber Examiners requires that all licensed barbers complete a minimum of six (6) hours of continuing education every two (2) years. Continuing education requirements can be fulfilled through:

  • Seminars or workshops
  • Attending the North Dakota State Barber Convention
  • Correspondence courses by video
  • Education material approved by the Board

Refer to the Continuing Education page on the ND Barber Examiners’ website for specific opportunities for meeting continuing education requirements.

How Do I Renew My North Dakota Barber License?

Barber licenses must be renewed annually and require a $100 renewal fee. Expired barber licenses require a $120 fee for renewal.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

The North Dakota Board of Barber Examiners can be contacted using the following information:

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (701) 837-0826
Address: P.O. Box 1802
Minot, North Dakota 58702