Skip to content
Home » Barber Schools Near You » Barber Schools in New Mexico

Barber Schools in New Mexico

New Mexico offers plenty of opportunities for those interested in becoming a barber. There are many accredited barber schools located throughout the state, and the career outlook for barbers is very positive.

If you’re thinking about becoming a barber, you’ll need to complete an accredited barbering program. During your training, you’ll learn all the skills and knowledge necessary to succeed in this career. Once you’ve completed your program, you’ll be able to take the state licensing exam and begin your career.

Barber Schools in New Mexico

State Requirements for Barber Licensing­ in New Mexico

In New Mexico, a barber must complete four stages in order to obtain a license. The following are the things you must do:

  • Start a barber school program
  • Complete 1,200 instructional hours
  • Pass the barber exam
  • Complete continuing education requirements
  • Renew your license every year

How Much Do New Mexico Barber Programs Cost?

The total cost of barber school in New Mexico can cost around $8,000 – $14,000 for tuition. This cost does not include the cost of a tool kit, books, and other training materials. Depending on your school, these costs may be included with the program or you may have the option of purchasing these supplies on your own.

Low-cost barbering programs might be found at community colleges, trade schools, technical schools, and other public institutions. Some of the best ways to save money on your barbering education are through scholarships and grants. Inquire with the financial aid office at your chosen barbering school to see if you qualify for any grants, scholarships, or loan programs.

Required Skills and Classes

To become a licensed barber in New Mexico, you must first complete 1,200 hours of instruction at a licensed New Mexico barber school. Barber schools require various items for enrollment including proof of age through a driver’s license or birth certificate, proof of education with a high school diploma, GED, or school transcripts. The program will be made of the following subjects with the following minimum hours of instruction:

  • Haircutting and Beard Trimming – 250 hours
  • Chemical Rearranging – 200 hours
  • Facials – 175 hours
  • Hair Styling 150 hours
  • Hair coloring – 125 hours
  • Sanitation and sterilization – 75 hours
  • Scalp treatment, rinses, and shampoo services – 75 hours
  • Barber Theory – 75 hours
  • Barbershop management and New Mexico Rules and Regulations – 50 hours

Once you have completed the required hours of training, your barber school will provide a signed document certifying the hours. These hours are good for the next two year, or 24 months. You will then be eligible to take the New Mexico barber exam.

State Licensing Exams

There are three New Mexico barbering exams that a candidate must all pass in order to qualify for a barber license. The theory, State Law theory, and practical exams. There is a $115 fee for the theory exam and a $60 for the practical exam, both of which need to be paid to PCS.


The New Mexico Theory Exam is developed by the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC). The theory exam is administered by computer at various test locations across New Mexico. Below is a list of available locations where you can take the barber theory exam:


2820 Broadbent Pkwy NE, Suites E & F
Albuquerque, NM 87107


1307 E. 20th St.
Farmington, NM 87401

Las Cruces

1001 N. Solano, Suite # D
Las Cruces, NM 8800


105 E. Fifth St.
Roswell, NM 88201

Santa Fe

4001 Office Court Drive, Suite 301
Santa Fe, NM 87507

State Law Theory

Candidates must also pass a State Law Theory exam, which tests knowledge of specific rules, regulations, and laws in New Mexico that relate to barbering services and barbershops.


Mannequins are used to perform necessary barbering services during the exam. Candidates are required to supply the needed clamp to secure a mannequin head to the table. During the exam, candidates are expected to perform the following “Core Domain Services”:

  • Client Protection and Set Up
  • Straight Razor Shaving
  • Haircutting
  • Chemical Waving
  • Hair Coloring/Lightening
  • Chemical Relaxing

How Much Do Barbers Get Paid in New Mexico?

The average salary for barbers in New Mexico is $28,070 per year according to the BLS or $13.50 an hour.

Continuing Education Requirements

Barbers are required to complete 12 continuing education hours during each renewal period. Hours do not carry over and must be completed every year. Different workshops, seminars, classes, trade shows, and conferences may qualify towards continuing education hour requirements.

Refer to the Barbers and Cosmetologist Continuing Education page on the NM Regulation and Licensing Department for specific continuing education providers that meet the Board’s approval.

How Do I Renew My New Mexico Barber License?

New Mexico barbers are required to renew their license once per year. There is a $100 renewal fee associated with Mater Barber license renewals. License renewals can be completed on the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department’s website.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Get in touch with the New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department for Barbers and Cosmetologists with the following:

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (505) 476-4622
Address: P.O. Box 25101, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504