Skip to content
Home » Barber Schools Near You » Barber Schools in Nevada

Barber Schools in Nevada

There are many reasons why someone might want to become a barber in the state of Nevada. Barbers are always in demand, they can work flexible hours, and they can be their own boss. Barbering is a great career choice for someone who enjoys working with people and wants to be creative.

If you’re thinking about becoming a barber in Nevada, the first step is to find a reputable barber school. There are several schools in Nevada that offer comprehensive training in all aspects of barbering.

Barber Schools in Nevada

State Requirements for Barber Licensing­ in Nevada

In Nevada, to work as a barber, you must complete four simple stages. The following are the actions you must take:

  • Enroll in a barber school program
  • Complete 1,500 hours at the barber school
  • Pass the Nevada barber exam
  • Renew your license every two years

How Much Do Nevada Barber Programs Cost?

The cost of tuition for a typical barbering program in Nevada is around $13,000 – $17,000.

Your barber school will require that you have certain barbering equipment and supplies such as barber kits, training manuals, and clinic consumables. You are expected to purchase these yourself and they may cost anywhere from $1,000 to $2,500 depending on the quality of barbering equipment you desire. In addition to this, various licensing fees, barber school administration costs, and barber exam expenses will be required ranging from $500 to $600 in different amounts.

Required Skills and Classes

Nevada barbering programs consist of 1,500 hours of study, which is typically completed in about a year.  Barbering programs cover topics such as hair cutting, hairstyling, shaving, facial treatments, and bacteriology. Students in Nevada barbering programs also learn about state laws and regulations governing the barber profession.

Licensed cosmetologists in Nevada can become licensed barbers by taking a 400 hour Cosmetologist Crossover program at a barber school and passing the Nevada barber exam for cosmetologists.

The curriculum of barber schools is separated into two components – Barber Theory and Practical Learning. Barber Theory covers topics such as the history of barbering, hair and scalp anatomy, hair cutting techniques, facial treatments, shaving, bacteriology, and state laws and regulations.

Practical Learning is composed of hands-on training in the school’s on-site salon or clinic. Students in Practical Learning gain experience performing barbering services on clients.

State Licensing Exams

Once you have completed the requirements for your barber school program, you are eligible to take the Nevada state board exams in order to become licensed. There are two sections of the exam, a Practical section and a Written Theory section.


The Theory section is a written exam that tests the applicant’s knowledge of barbering theory and laws. A passing score of 75% is required to be eligible for a barber license. The topics of the Nevada written exam include but are not limited to:

  • History of barbering
  • Anatomy
  • Chemistry pertaining to barbering
  • Disinfection and sterilization
  • Barbershop management
  • Nevada barbering rules and regulations


The Practical section is a skills test that measures the applicant’s ability to perform basic barbering services, which must be demonstrated on a live model. You will have to complete the following services with a passing grade:

  • Shampooing
  • Haircutting
  • Hairstyling
  • Facial shaving
  • Chemical waving or straightening
  • Sanitation and bacteriology

How Much Do Barbers Get Paid in Nevada?

Barbers in Nevada make on average $26,580 per year or $12.78 an hour.

Continuing Education Requirements

Nevada barbers are required to complete four (4) hours of continuing education every two years in order to renew their licenses.

How Do I Renew My Nevada Barber License?

Barbers are required to renew their license every two years by May 1st to avoid a lapsed license or paying a late renewal fee. You will need to pay a renewal fee of $50, which can be done online or by mail.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

The Nevada State Board of Cosmetology can be contacted with these details:

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (702) 508-0015


Las Vegas Location:
8945 West Russell Road, Suite 100
Las Vegas, Nevada 89148

Reno Location:
740 Del Monte Lane, Suite 12
Reno, Nevada 89511