The state of Mississippi is home to a number of barber schools that can help you get started on your new career as a barber. Barbering is a great career choice for those who enjoy working with hair and helping people look their best.
Get started on your new career by enrolling in one of the many barber schools located in Mississippi today.
Barber Schools in Mississippi
State Requirements for Barber Licensing in Mississippi
The following are the procedures necessary to work as a barber in Mississippi:
- Enroll in an accredited Mississippi barber school
- Complete 1,500 clock hours
- Pass the Mississippi barber exam
- Renew your barber license
How Much Do Mississippi Barber Programs Cost?
The price of tuition for Mississippi barber schools can range from $10,000 – $16,000.
Some schools charge a fee for barbering equipment, including barber kits, training manuals, and clinic consumables. These might cost anywhere from $1,000 to $2,500 depending on the type of equipment you want. You’ll also have to pay for licensing, barber school administration expenses, and barber exam costs totaling between $500 and $600 in additional fees.
Students might be eligible for federal scholarships, grants, or loans that may assist them with the entire costs of barbering programs. Check with your chosen barbering institution’s financial aid office to see if you qualify for any of these types of financial assistance.
Required Skills and Classes
Mississippi barber schools require proof of a high school diploma or GED to be eligible for admission. Mississippi State Board of Barber Examiners requires prospective barbers to attend an accredited barber school and complete 1,500 hours of training to be eligible to take the barber exam. Upon passing the exam, applicants are eligible to apply for a Barber/Stylist license.
The 1,500 hours of barbering are split between Lecture and Clinical sections. Each section covers the following topics as suggested by the MS State Board of Barber Examiners:
Barber theory takes place in a classroom setting and covers the general profession of barbering as well as all the services barbers in Mississippi are eligible to provide. Barber schools in Mississippi are required to provide the following minimum hours of Theory instruction on the following subjects.
- History fundamentals of barbering – 5 hours
- Elementary chemistry related to sterilization – 25 hours
- Barber implements, shaving, beard, haircutting and styling – 5 hours
- Male hairpiece sales and service – 5 hours
- Hair coloring-tinting, bleaching, straightening – 5 hours
- Hair structure and chemicals – 75 hours
- Theory of massage and facial treatment – 5 hours
- Disorders of the skin, scalp, and hair – 10 hours
- Barber laws, rules, and regulations – 5hours
- Business management and salesmanship – 10 hours
- General review -20 hours
Practical hours involve observing and practicing practical knowledge of barbering services on models, mannequins, and customers. The minimum hours of practical learning are outlined by the Board as the following:
- Hair cutting, tapered and long (male and female) – 900 hours
- Shaving beard and mustaches – 25 hours
- Hair coloring – 70 hours
- Scalp and hair treatment, shampoo, etc – 50 hours
- Facial treatments – 20 hours
- Permanent waxing, razor cutting, and styling – 50 hours
- Hairpieces-fitting (sales and services) – 20 hours
- Miscellaneous – 195
State Licensing Exams
The requirements for taking the barber exam in Mississippi are as follows:
- Complete a 1,500 barber school program
- Provide required documents from the barber school: A copy of the barber college diploma, a certified transcript of hours completed, and a letter from the barber college with the instructor’s signature
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Provide two signed photographs
- Pay a $100 barber exam application fee
The Mississippi barber exam consists of two portions – a written exam and a practical exam. The Written exam is a multiple choice test that quizzes your knowledge of barbering topics learned in school. The Practical exam tests your ability to demonstrate barbering services learned in the practical section of barbering school.
How Much Do Barbers Get Paid in Mississippi?
The average salary for barbers in Mississippi is $23,290 per year or $11.20 an hour.
Continuing Education Requirements
There are currently no continuing education requirements for barbers in Mississippi.
How Do I Renew My Mississippi Barber License?
Barbers in Mississippi must renew their license once per year in the month that you originally received your license. Licenses can be renewed using the Mississippi State Board of Barber Examiners website or through the mail.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
The following is the contact information for the Mississippi State Board of Barber Examiners: