Skip to content
Home » Barber Schools Near You » Barber Schools in Michigan

Barber Schools in Michigan

Becoming a barber in the state of Michigan is not as difficult as one might think. In fact, there are a few simple steps that one must take in order to become a licensed barber in Michigan. The following page will outline these steps for you.

State Requirements for Barber Licensing­ in Michigan:

The following are the steps necessary to become a barber in Michigan:

  • Enroll in a Michigan barber school program
  • Complete 1,800 clock hours
  • Pass the Michigan barber exam
  • Keep your license current

Estimated Cost

The tuition for Michigan barber programs can range from $10,000 to $18,000. In addition to tuition, students are expected to pay for their own room and board, supply their own barbering supplies and barbering kits, and pay their own registration, application, and licensing fees associated with becoming a barber.

Many students qualify for federal grants, scholarships, or loans which can offset the total costs of barbering programs. Talk with the financial aid department of your preferred barbering school to find out if you qualify for these type of financial aid options.

Required Skills and Classes

Students are required to provide proof of a high school diploma or equivalent to be eligible for barber school programs in Michigan.

Barbers in Michigan must complete 1,800 total hours of clock time at an accredited barbering school. These hours are broken down into two components – Theory and Practical.


Theory involves classroom style learning with an instructor, who covers a wide range of topics related to the barbering profession and barbering services. Most programs spend about 225 hours on Theory, which is made up of the following sections:

  • History and Implements of the Barber Profession – 9 hours
  • Safety and sanitation – 54 hours
  • Client Services – 27 hours
  • Haircut and Shave – 54 hours
  • Chemical Services – 40 hours
  • Secondary Services – 18 hours
  • Michigan Laws, Rules and Regulations – 9 hours
  • Business Management – 14 hours


The remaining hours, about 1,575 hours, are spent on Practical, which involves practicing barbering skills on mannequins, models, and customers. The following are the sections covered in Practical:

  • Safety and Sanitation – 45 hours
  • Haircut and Shave – 900 hours
  • Chemical Services – 315 hours
  • Secondary Services – 225 hours
  • Business Management – 90 hours

State Licensing Exams

There are two sections of the Michigan barber exam: The Written Exam and the Practical Exam. Michigan State Board of Barbers requires that you receive at least a 75% on both the written exam and practical exam to be eligible to receive a barber license. There is a $167 exam fee for both the theory and practical sections.

Theory Exam

The Michigan Theory exam is a closed book exam consisting of 100 multiple choice questions that need to be completed within two hours. The following are the sections of the Michigan Theory barber exam:

  • Sanitation, Disinfection and Safety – 30%
  • Shampooing and Conditioning Hair – 5%
  • Haircutting and Hairstyling – 17%
  • Shaving – 15%
  • Chemical Texture Services – 13%
  • Haircoloring – 10%
  • Skin Care – 5%
  • Licensing – 5%

Practical Exam

The Michigan Practical Exam tests your ability to perform barbering services learned in barber school. The total number of points on the exam is 132 and you have 2 hours and 50 minutes to complete the exam. A passing score of 75%, or 99 points, is required to pass the practical exam. These are the following sections of the practical exam along with the time allotted for each section:

  • Pre-Exam Set Up and Disinfection – 10 minutes
  • Shampoo Service – 15 minutes
  • Blow Drying Service – 10 minutes
  • Hair Cutting Service – 35 minutes
  • Mock Shaving Service – 25 minutes
  • Facial Service – 20 minutes
  • Chemical Services – 30 minutes
  • Permanent Waving Service – 15 minutes
  • End of Exam Disinfection – 10 minutes

How Much Do Barbers Get Paid in Michigan?

The average salary for Michigan barbers is $47,950 per year or $23.05 per hour.

Continuing Education Requirements

For the time being, Michigan does not require barbers to complete continuing education as a part of their license renewal requirements.

How Do I Renew My Michigan Barber License?

Barbers in Michigan must renew their licenses once every two years. There is an $80 fee for new barber license applications and a $30 fee for license renewals.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

The Michigan State Board of Barbers can be reached with the information found below:

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (517) 241-0199
Address: P.O. Box 30004
Lansing, MI 48909