Skip to content
Home » Barber Schools Near You » Barber Schools in Florida

Barber Schools in Florida

If you’re interested in becoming a barber, there are plenty of schools to choose from in the state of Florida. In order to become a licensed barber in Florida, you must complete an approved barber program and pass both a written and practical exam. Once you’ve completed your schooling and obtained your license, you’ll be able to find work in a variety of settings, from barber shops and salons to spas and resorts.

State Requirements for Barber Licensing­ in Florida

The following are the basic requirements and steps for becoming a barber in Florida:

  • Be 16 years old
  • Complete a barber school program
  • Pass the barber exam
  • Maintain continuing education requirements
  • Renew license every two years

Estimated Cost

Barber schools in Florida cost approximately $13,215 with some as low as $5,000 and others as high as $20,000. Barber school costs may also vary based on the type of barbering licensure offered.

Required Skills and Classes

There are two main types of barbering licenses in Florida: Restricted Barbers and Barbers. Restricted Barbers are not permitted to provide chemical services.

You must complete a minimum of 600 hours of education through a board licensed barber school. Barber school classes will cover a wide range of areas including:

  • Shearing
  • Cutting
  • Styling
  • Use of chemicals

Becoming a restricted barber in Florida also requires 600 hours of training at an accredited barbering school in Florida to take the exam. Or applicants can complete at least 9000 hours of training without needing to take the exam.

To take the barber exam or restricted barber exam, applicants must be at least 16 years of age.

State Licensing Exams

The Florida barber exam is administered by Pearson VUE and can be scheduled on their website. A minimum score of 70% is required to pass the exam and results are available 2-3 weeks after taking the exam.

Both barbers and restricted barbers are eligible to take an online proctored test through Pearson VUE’s OnVUE testing platform.

Two forms are ID are required to take the exam. One of the IDs must be government issued, such as a passport, driver’s license, state ID card or military ID card. The mailing addresses on the IDs must also match the address submitted on your application.

The exam for Barbers is made up of 100 multiple choice questions that must be completed within a three hour time period. The following are the content areas for the test:

  • Safety, Sanitation and Sterilization – 30 questions
  • Florida Barber Laws and Rules – 25 questions
  • Hair Cutting and Hair Styling – 15 questions
  • Chemical Procedures – 10 questions
  • Hair Structure and Chemistry – 10 questions
  • Shaving, Beard, and Mustache Trimming – 5 questions
  • Shampooing – 5 questions

The exam for Restricted Barbers is much shorter at only 30 multiple choice questions and tests Florida Laws and Rules for Barbers. The test must be completed in one hour. The following are types of questions that appear on the test.

  • Purpose of Regulation
  • Definition of Terms
  • Board Membership
  • Power, Duties, and Procedures
  • Licensure Requirements
  • Disciplinary Guidelines
  • Maintain Licensure Status


The average annual salary for Florida barbers is $31,270 or $15.03 for the average hourly wage.

Continuing Education Requirements:

Barbers in Florida are required to complete 2 hours of continuing education every 2 years. The expiration date for completing continuing education requirements is July 31 of even numbered years. The continuing education requirements currently involves at least 2 hours of HIV/AIDS continuing education, and most providers allow the course to be completed online. There is a $75 fee that is paid to the Board.

Use the Florida Continuing Education Course Search tool to find continuing education providers endorsed by the Florida Barbers’ Board.

Renewing a barber license

Florida barber licenses expire on July 31th of every even numbered year. Renewals are completed on the Florida DBPR website and there is a $70 renewal fee.

Out of state barbers

Licensed barbers from out of state are eligible to become licensed in Florida upon passing the written exam.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Using the following information to contact the Florida Barbers’ Board.



Phone: 850.487.1395

Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1027