Skip to content
Home » Barber Schools Near You » Barber Schools in Colorado

Barber Schools in Colorado

There are many reasons why someone might want to become a barber in Colorado. For starters, the state is home to some of the country’s best-known cities, including Denver, Boulder, and Colorado Springs. This means that there are plenty of opportunities for barbers to find work in urban areas. Additionally, Colorado is a popular tourist destination, which means that barbers in the state can enjoy a steady stream of customers from out of town. Explore the educational opportunities below and learn how you can become a licensed barber in Colorado. Check out our listings to find the best barber school near you.

Barber Schools in Colorado

State Requirements for Barber Licensing in Colorado

The requirements for barber schools in the state of Colorado are as follows;

  • Attend and complete a state-accredited barber school program
  • Apply for a barber license
  • Pass the Barber Licensure Examinations
  • Renew the license once every two years

Barber schools in Colorado must be approved by the Division of Private Occupational Schools (DPOS) or the Colorado Community College System (CCCS). It requires the completion of 50 credits or 1,500 contact hours as a part of the state-approved barber school. No apprenticeship options are available for barber licensing in Colorado.

How Much Do Colorado Barber Schools Cost?

The average cost of barber schools in Colorado is $13,215 per year, with most programs costing between $6,500 to $15,000. Depending on the program, the estimated annual cost can range anywhere from $3,000 to $20,000.

There are additional costs and fees associated with obtaining your barber license. These costs include:

  • Licensure by Examination Application: $28
  • Practical examination: $69
  • Written examination: $55
  • License renewal fee: $26 (once every two years)

Required Skills and Classes

Colorado barber schools are required to provide a minimum number of hours for class types, which are as follows:

Class Type Hours
Haircutting and styling 300
Permanent waving and chemical relaxing 250
Massage and skin care 150
Shampoo and scalp treatments 150
Shaving, honing, and stropping 150
Hair tinting 135
Sanitation, sterilization, and safety 45
Laws, rules, and regulations 25
Management, ethics, interpersonal skills, and salesmanship 25
Occupational safety and health 20

This totals 1,250 hours, leaving 250 additional hours that are at the discretion of the barber school.

State Licensing Exams

The Colorado Barber Examination is currently provided by PSI Exams Online. The exam consists of two portions: a practical examination lasting 145 minutes and a written examination lasting 120 minutes. The practical exam fee is $69 and the written exam fee is $55.

How Much Do Colorado Barbers Make?

According to the BLS, Colorado barbers have an average annual salary of $33,420 and an average hourly salary of $16.07. There are approximately 180 licensed barbers in the state of Colorado.

Are Three Continuing Education Requirements?

There are no continuing education requirements for barbers in Colorado.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Website: Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure
Email: [email protected] or [email protected]
Phone: (303) 894-7800
Address: 1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202