Looking for a barber school in Arkansas? You’re in luck. There are several great schools where you can learn the art of barbering. But which one should you choose? That depends on your needs and what you’re looking for in a school. Below you will find a list of accredited barber schools in Arkansas, as well as information on how to become a barber in Arkansas.
State Requirements for Barber Licensing in Arkansas
The requirements for a Barbers license in the state of Arkansas are;
- Complete a Barber school program
- Apply for a Technician certificate
- Apply for the license
- Taking the license exam
- Renew license every two years
A first-time licensee must complete 1,500 hours of Barbering school in Arkansas. Technician certification is a requirement for a Barber license in Arkansas. It is issued to those who have completed 20 full working days of study and at least 20 hours of sterilization tools and Barber’s law studies in Arkansas. Applicants must have also completed 12th grade to be eligible.
How Much Does Barber School Cost in Arkansas?
The average cost for barber schools in Arkansas is $15,569 with the tuition of most schools ranging between $10,000 and $20,000.
Required Skills and Classes
Some of the subjects and skills a Barber in Arkansas will acquire are;
- Anatomy and physiology of hair and scalp
- Skin, hair, and scalp disorders
- Fundamentals of Barbering
- Arkansas State Barber Board Laws
- Hygiene and grooming
- Shaving, hair styling, and straightening
- Hair coloring and bleaching
State Licensing Exams
The state of Arkansas requires applicants to pass written, practical, and oral examinations for their license. An application form with certification of Barber school hours and two signed photographs must be provided to the Board. All the appropriate forms needed by applicants are provided by the Board.
How Much Do Barbers Get Paid in Arkansas?
Barbers in the state of Arkansas may average earn $16.92 per hour or $35,190 per annum in May 2019 according to the Bureau of Labour Statistics, USA.
Are There Any Continuing Education Requirements?
There is no continuing education for Barbers in the state of Arkansas. License renewal every odd-numbered year, before your birth date, is a requirement.
Arkansas State Board of Barbers can be contacted through the following;