Skip to content
Home » Nail Tech Schools Near You » Nail Tech Schools in Missouri

Nail Tech Schools in Missouri

If you’re considering a career in nail technology, Missouri is a great place to start your search. The state is home to a large number of beauty schools and salon chains, so you’ll have no shortage of options when it comes to finding a training program that’s right for you. And once you’ve completed your education and obtained your license, you’ll find that there are plenty of opportunities for employment in Missouri. Whether you’re looking for a job in a high-end salon or a more casual setting, you’re sure to find something that fits your needs. Begin your journey for a new career by taking the first step and finding a nail tech school near you in Missouri using our database below.

Nail Tech Schools in Missouri

State Requirements for Nail Technician Licensing in Missouri

  • Four hundred (400) hours of nail tech training from a reputable institute or eight hundred (800) hours of apprenticeship.
  • License renewal every two (2) years.

How Much Do Missouri Nail Tech Programs Cost?

Interested applicants that prefer attending classes over doing an apprenticeship will have to factor in the cost of a nail tech program in Missouri. How much will that be? Well, the truth is it varies from program to program, but here are some sample costs from local schools to give you a better idea.

  • City Pointe Beauty Academy (Webb City) – $4,558
  • Grabber School of Hair Design (St. Louis) – $3,650
  • House of Heavilin School of Cosmetology (Kansas City) – $2,525

Required Skills and Classes

Students must be at least seventeen (17) years of age and have completed 10th grade to qualify for the state-approved training program that must include the following:

  • At least 220 hours of manicuring, hand and arm massage, and the treatment of nails
  • At least 20 hours of salesmanship and management
  • At least 20 hours of sanitation and sterilization
  • At least 10 hours of anatomy
  • At least 10 hours related to Missouri state law
  • At least 40 hours of the use and application of chemicals
  • At least 80 hours of curriculum determined by the school

State Licensing Exam

After completing the course requirements, applicants must register with the Professional Credential Services (PCS) before being permitted to take the exams. Once approved, the Board will utilize the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) for the exams.

The cost of both theoretical and practical examinations is $150.

The passing score for both practical and theoretical exams is 75%.

How Much Do Nail Techs Get Paid in Missouri?

Currently, the nail care specialist will an average salary of $30,410 per year or $14.62 per hour. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this field will see continued growth over the next decade.

Does Missouri Have Continuing Education Requirements for Nail Technicians?

License renewal in Missouri requires that nail techs show proof of one (1) hour of continued education for each renewal period.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

For licensing questions, you can reach out to the state licensing agency using the information below.

Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Address: 3605 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102
Email: [email protected]
Call: 573-751-1052
Fax: 573-751-8167