Skip to content
Home » Makeup Schools Near You » Makeup Schools in Vermont

Makeup Schools in Vermont

Makeup schools in Vermont offer a unique opportunity to learn about makeup artistry. The state is home to several schools that teach the latest techniques and trends in makeup application. Applying to one of these schools can give you the skills you need to start your career in makeup artistry.

State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Vermont

It’s possible to be a makeup artist in Vermont without a professional license. For example, if you work at a retail makeup counter, no license is required. However, if you want to offer other services and work in a spa or salon environment, you have two options to earn the necessary credentials to work as a professional makeup artist in Vermont.

  • Esthetician License – students of this craft must complete 600 hours of schooling or between 800 to 1,200 of training within an 18-month period as an apprentice.
  • Cosmetology License – students of this craft must complete 1,500 hours of schooling or between 2,00 to 3,000 of training within a 24-month period as an apprentice.

How Much Do Vermont Makeup Schools Cost?

Your educational costs will vary a lot depending on where you go to school and what license you choose to pursue. In general, however, you can expect to pay about $10,000 for an esthetics program and $16,000 for a cosmetology program.

Required Skills and Classes

Aspiring makeup professionals in Vermont will have two main options to pursue a career in makeup artistry. Let’s look at the skills and courses you’ll likely experience when you follow either of these educational paths.

  • Esthetics – the minimum number of training hours is 600 but will double due to spa therapy training which includes the following techniques:
    • Facials
    • Eyebrow arching
    • Makeup techniques
    • Exfoliation and mask therapy
  • Esthetic Apprenticeship – another option for acquiring the license is through 800 to 1,200 hours of training via apprenticeship. A designated supervisor will document the training in the following areas:
    • Facials
    • Facial and body hair treatments and chemistry
    • Makeup services and chemistry
    • Sanitation and sterilization techniques
      • Your equipment
      • Chemical and waste storage
      • Laws, rules, and regulations
    • Your personal sanitation, health, and hygiene
    • Safe chemical procedures
    • Professional ethics
  • Cosmetology – a typical curriculum will be comprised of the following subjects:
    • Hair cutting
    • Hairdresser training
    • Styling
    • Makeup training
    • Pedicures and manicures
    • Hair coloring
    • Facials
    • Safety procedures
    • Business management and customer service

State Licensing Exams

To be eligible for the state exams, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • At least 18 years old
  • Has obtained a high school or GED
  • Has proof of apprenticeship completion if applicable.

Esthetics – candidates that have completed the requirements will need to register for the exams through this link while also providing the following:

  • School verification affidavit that shows the completion of the required number of school hours
  • Current passport-type photo (2 x 2)

Practical Exam – PCS will be responsible for specifying the time and date of the hands-on exam which will be sent via email. For further information, please call 1-888-822-3272.

Theory and State Law Exams – applicants will receive an Authorization to Test (ATT) via email which includes the schedule along with directions. For further information, please call 1-888-822-3272.

Cosmetology – Professional Credential Services (PCS) will include all three licensure exam types.

  • Written Exam – the theoretical aspect of the exams will be delivered in a multiple-choice format. Topics included are:
    • Hair care and hair services – 40%
    • Scientific concepts of cosmetology – 30%
    • Nail care and nail services – 15%
    • Skin care and skin services – 15%
  • Practical Exam – examinees are mandated to bring 2 mannequins to perform a predetermined set of activities in front of a designated evaluator. These activities are:
    • Proper set-up with adequate client protection
    • Thermal curling – demonstrated with a cold iron
    • Chemical waiving
    • Hair cutting
    • Virgin hair lightening and hair color retouching
    • Virgin relaxer application and retouch
    • Basic facial and manicure
    • Nail sculpturing

How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Vermont?

According to, professionals in this field will earn a median salary of $21,536 per year or about $10 per hour.

Does Vermont Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?

Vermont does not have continuing education credit requirements for cosmetology or esthetician license holders. They still have to renew their licenses every two years, however, and pay the associated renewal fees.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Office of Professional Regulation
Address: 89 Main Street, 3rd Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620
Website: Office of Professional Regulation