If you’re interested in learning how to do makeup, then you should consider attending one of the many makeup schools located in North Dakota. Makeup schools can offer you a wide variety of courses that can teach you everything from the basics of makeup application to more advanced techniques.
|id||keyword||barber||cosmetology||esthetician||hair||makeup||nail||beauty||general||School Specialties||School Name||full_address||Street Address||City||State||Zip Code||plus_code||Website||Phone Number||latitude||longitude||latlong||Learning Environment||Rating||Reviews||5star||4star||3star||2star||1star||Image||Pricing||Description||hours||hours_info||Monday Hours||Tuesday Hours||Wednesday Hours||Thursday Hours||Friday Hours||Saturday Hours||Sunday Hours||Schools in This Area||Details|
|School Specialties||School Name||City||Zip Code|
Schools in This Area:
State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in North Dakota
- No minimum education or license is required for those that don’t intend to offer skin care.
- If you do intend to provide services beyond makeup application, however, you will need to earn an esthetician or cosmetology license.
How Much Do North Dakota Makeup Schools Cost?
As mentioned above, no schooling or certification is required for makeup artists. However, many makeup artists find that they have a higher earning potential by being able to provide esthetician services and decide to gain an esthetician license. The average cost of an esthetician school in North Dakota is a little over $7,000 once you add in the cost of tuition, books, and supplies.
Required Skills and Classes
According to the state law of ND, if a makeup artist decides to offer skincare to their clients, then an esthetician education will be required which entails completing a 600-hour training in the following areas:
- Sterilization, Sanitation, and Safety (75 Hours)
- Body Treatments, Facials, Hair Removal, and Makeup (340 Hours)
- Study of Theory, Law, and Sanitation (75 Hours)
- Related Subjects (60 Hours)
- Unassigned (50 Hours)
Please note that the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology exempts professional makeup artists that have been trained to apply makeup by a cosmetics company or have finished a makeup artistry program.
State Licensing Exams
Only makeup artists who earn an esthetician or cosmetology license will need to take a state exam to earn a license. Esthetician licenses tend to be more affordable and easier to obtain. The state’s esthetician exams include:
- Written Exam – test-takers of this exam must register with PSI Services and must pay a $70 fee. An esthetics written exam candidate information bulletin is available for download that outlines the coverage of the said exam, which includes, but is not limited to the following:
- Skin Glands and Functions
- Cleansing, Steaming, and Exfoliation procedures
- Skin Conditions and Disorders
- Hair and Growth
- Hair Removal
- Makeup Application
- Skin Care Products
- Massage and Manipulation
- Basic Chemistry and Anatomy
- Laws Exam – this test will mainly deal with North Dakota laws, rules, and regulations that are related to the practice of the said profession. The actual exam will be computer-based. Those that require a refresher course can use this link.
- Practical Exam – the last exam on the list will be hands-on and must be scheduled directly with the North Dakota Board of Cosmetology by applying for esthetician examination to the board along with providing the following:
- Proof of esthetician education
- $25.00 payment for the practical exam
- $25.00 payment for the original license
Once the Board verifies your application, you will be given an admission card via mail. On the day of the exam, participants must bring the following to be permitted:
- Admission card
- Photo ID
- Esthetician kit
- Live model to perform the esthetics-related services on
- Proof of esthetician education (must be at least 600 hours)
The exam itself will be a series of activities that estheticians will be performing on the job such as:
- Client Protection
- Cleansing the Face
- Steaming the Face Using Towel
- Massaging the Face
- Application of the Mask
- Hair Removal of the Eyebrows
- Facial Makeup
How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in North Dakota?
The expected median salary for incoming makeup artists in North Dakota is $20,999 annually or about $10 an hour.
Does North Dakota Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?
ND does not require its makeup artists to undergo continuing education training to retain their licenses.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology
Address: 4719 Shelburne St. Suite 1, Bismarck, ND 58503
Email: [email protected]