Skip to content
Home » Makeup Schools Near You » Makeup Schools in New Mexico

Makeup Schools in New Mexico

If you’re interested in learning how to do makeup, then you should consider attending a makeup school in New Mexico. There are many great schools to choose from, and the training you receive will be top-notch. Choosing the right makeup school is an important decision, but it doesn’t have to be difficult. Here’s a list of some of the best makeup schools in New Mexico:

Makeup Schools in New Mexico

State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in New Mexico

New Mexico doesn’t require a license for people who apply makeup. However, many employers will look for advanced credentials and give preference to people who have them when hiring for a makeup artist position. This is why many makeup artists in New Mexico take esthetician courses and become licensed estheticians with the state board. You’ll need to go through the application process and complete an esthetics program with 600 hours from a Board-approved program before finally passing the state’s required exams.

How Much Do New Mexico Makeup Schools Cost?

For makeup artists that choose to pursue an esthetician license, they’ll have their choice of a few different programs in the state. The average cost for tuition, books, and supplies comes to around $10,700 according to the website

Required Skills and Classes

For standard makeup, no license is required. However, New Mexico does have requirements for permanent makeup artistry. So, there are two types of licenses that prospective makeup artists can acquire, estheticians and permanent makeup technicians.

  • Estheticians – By New Mexico law, estheticians must be able to perform the following to be licensed:
    • Removing unwanted hair by any means except electrolysis or invasive technology
    • Tinting eyelashes and eyebrows
    • Applying makeup and other cosmetics
    • Using facial machines in performing facials
    • Using high frequency and light therapy in performing facials
    • Using manipulation and massage via hands or machines
    • Using cosmetics on the skin to cleanse and stimulate
  • Permanent Makeup Artist Technicians – these licensed holders are only permitted to practice the application of permanent makeup (tattooing) under specific guidelines. Other procedures include eyeliner/eyelash enhancer, lip color, lip liner, and eyebrow simulation.

State Licensing Exams

Licensed estheticians in New Mexico must pass written, practical, and jurisprudence exams to be granted their license.

Participants must bring their mannequin to perform the following core services which will they graded on:

  • Facial makeup
  • Facial mask
  • Hair removal (eyebrows)
  • Manual extraction (forehead)
  • Face massage
  • Cleansing and steaming face
  • Set up/client protection

The theoretical exam will test the examinee’s knowledge o concepts such as:

  • Scientific concepts
  • Skin services and care

The jurisprudence exam will focus on state laws, rules, and regulations relating to esthetics when working within New Mexico.

How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in New Mexico?

According to, New Mexico currently has an average annual salary of $20,380 per year for makeup artists which works out to about $10 per hour.

Does New Mexico Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?

No continuing education credits are required for licensed or unlicensed makeup artists in New Mexico. However, makeup artists with an esthetician license will need to renew their license and pay a renewal fee each year.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department
Address: 2550 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Email: [email protected]
Call: 505-476-4500
Fax: 505-476-4545