Makeup schools in Mississippi offer aspiring makeup artists a chance to learn the latest techniques and styles. In addition, these schools provide students with the opportunity to network with other professionals in the field. By attending a makeup school in Mississippi, you can be sure that you are getting the best possible education.
Makeup Schools in Mississippi
|id||keyword||barber||cosmetology||esthetician||hair||makeup||nail||beauty||general||School Specialties||School Name||full_address||Street Address||City||State||Zip Code||plus_code||Website||Phone Number||latitude||longitude||latlong||Learning Environment||Rating||Reviews||5star||4star||3star||2star||1star||Image||Pricing||Description||hours||hours_info||Monday Hours||Tuesday Hours||Wednesday Hours||Thursday Hours||Friday Hours||Saturday Hours||Sunday Hours||Schools in This Area||Details|
|1,961||makeup schools near Gulfport MS||0||0||0||0||1||0||0||1||Makeup||Coastal Medical Training Institute LLC||12100 US 49 N Suite # 736, Gulfport, MS 39503||12100 US 49 N Suite # 736||Gulfport||MS||39503||FW62+3H Gulfport, Mississippi||https://cmtitraining.com||(833) 473-1476||30.46||-89.10||30.4601625-89.0986238||Adult education school||4.90||34 reviews||33||0||1||0||0||Wednesday, 8AM to 4PM; Thursday, 8AM to 4PM; Friday, 8AM to 4PM; Saturday, Closed; Sunday, Closed; Monday, 8AM to 4PM; Tuesday, 8AM to 4PM. Hide open hours for the week||Closed ‚ãÖ Opens 8AM Thu||8AM to 4PM||8AM to 4PM||8AM to 4PM||8AM to 4PM||8AM to 4PM||Closed||Closed|
|School Specialties||School Name||City||Zip Code|
Schools in This Area:
State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Mississippi
As of 2021, Mississippi no longer requires licensing for what it considers low risk beauty procedures like makeup artistry. That said, many salons and other employers still prefer someone with an educational background, so many makeup artists in Mississippi complete esthetician licensing programs to improve their job prospects. To do that, one must:
- Be 17+ years old
- Able to read, write and speak English
- Have a high school diploma or an eqiuvalent
- Pay an application fee
- Graduate an esthetics graduate with a minimum of 600 clock-in hours.
- Pass the state’s written and practical licensing examinations
How Much Do Mississippi Makeup Schools Cost?
For candidates that pursue an esthetics license, you’ll find the average cost for these “makeup schools” in Mississippi average out to a total cost of about $8,000 after you finish paying for all fees, tuition, books, and supplies. The programs usually last about six months. Some programs have financial aid offices to help you find scholarships or grants to help you reduce your total costs, so be sure to research that when you look into different programs.
Required Skills and Classes
Again, a license for makeup artists is not required in Mississippi. But for those who choose to complete a 600-hour esthetics program, students will learn various techniques needed to be an effective makeup artist such as:
- Theory courses:
- Theory demonstration classes
- State cosmetology law, regulations, and rules
- Safety precautions
- Using and maintaining electrical machines and implements
- Hair removal
- Physiology and anatomy of the skin
- Professional ethics
- Personal hygiene
- Disinfection and sanitation
- Practical skills:
- Conditions and treatment of the skin
- Safety precautions
- Salon management
- Eye beautification
- Hair removal
- Professional makeup
- Skin care – machine
- Skin care- manual
- Sanitation and disinfection
- Client consultation
Additional courses may be acquired by enrolling in a more comprehensive cosmetology program.
State Licensing Exams
For those that choose to complete an esthetics program, they will have the privilege of partaking in the two-part board exam. Applicants will be required to fill out an examination approval form before being allowed to take the said exams. Once approved, you will be required to register with Professional Credential Services.
The written exam will focus on the hypothetical aspect of the applicant’s knowledge such as:
- Hair removal
- Skin science
- State laws, rules, and regulations
The practical portion of the exam will test the applicant’s capabilities of performing the following services:
- Applying and removing makeup
- Removing hair
- Applying and removing masques
- Skin analysis
- Infection control
How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Mississippi?
According to the most recent data from salary.com, makeup artists in Mississippi can expect to earn an average salary of $19,399 per year. Salaries can vary a bit, with 80% of makeup artists in Mississippi making somewhere between $15,142 and $25,149.
Does Mississippi Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?
Whether you are a licensed or unlicensed makeup artist in Mississippi, no continuing education credits are required. However, those with esthetician licenses will need to renew their licenses every two years and pay a renewal fee.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology
Address: 239 North Lamar Suite 301, Jackson, MS 39201
Contact Form: https://www.msbc.ms.gov/contact-us/