Skip to content
Home » Makeup Schools Near You » Makeup Schools in Kansas

Makeup Schools in Kansas

Kansas makeup schools are a great option for anyone looking to start or further their career in the makeup industry. Not only do these schools offer comprehensive training, but they also provide students with access to some of the best resources and networks in the business. If you’re considering attending a makeup school in Kansas, be sure to do your research first. There are many schools located in Kansas, so it’s important to find one that fits your needs and interests.

Makeup Schools in Kansas

State Requirements for Makeup Artist Licensing in Kansas

Kansas does not require makeup artists to have a formal license to practice. That said, many people in the industry choose to get a cosmetology or esthetics certification in Kansas because it opens up more job opportunities and gives them a broader skillset to offer their clients. For those that choose to purse one of these licenses, these are the options:

  • Complete a cosmetology program with a minimum of 1,500 hours of training.
  • Complete an esthetics program with a minimum of 1,000 hours of training.

Upon completing the coursework, candidates must pass the state exams, pay associated fees, and keep their license renewed and in good standing.

How Much Do Kansas Makeup Schools Cost?

While there is no educational requirement for makeup artists in Kansas, enhancing your repertoire of skills will not only increase your chances of landing a job, but it will also increase your customer’s confidence in you while increasing your overall marketability. Esthetics programs tend to be shorter, and not surprisingly have a lower cost. The average cost of esthetics programs in Kansas is right around $15,000 while cosmetology programs cost closer to $19,000.

Required Skills and Classes

A makeup artist’s curriculum should contain the following courses:

  • Anatomy and physiology of the skin
  • Hair
  • Nails
  • Cosmetic pigments
  • Selecting the right products for a client’s facial shape and hair, skin, and eye coloring
  • Makeup application for film, stage, and television.

State Licensing Exams

There are two paths to pursue to practice makeup artistry within KS, either by earning a cosmetology or esthetics license.

  • Cosmetology – prior to taking the actual licensure exams, applicants must first accomplish its prerequisites such as:
    • Read and understand the Exam Guide.
    • Settle the practical exam fee of $65
    • Settle the written exam fee of $50

The 2-hour theoretical exam will cover the following topics:

  • Professional Knowledge, which will be tested based on the information in the following books:
    • Milady’s Standard Textbook of Cosmetology
    • Salon Fundamentals: A Resource for Your Cosmetology Career
    • Milady’s Standard Nail Technology
  • Kansas Cosmetology Laws and Regulations
    • You can find the general rules and regulations here.

In the practical exam, candidates must demonstrate their ability to perform the following services in a professional manner:

  • Setting up and Sanitizing
  • Draping
  • Thermal Curling, Haircut, Chemical Waves, and Facial Services
  • Hair Coloring, Lightening, and Chemical Relaxing
  • Blood Spill Procedures
  • Sculptured Nail
  • Manicure
  • Disinfection and Cleanup
  • Esthetics – taking the licensure exams entails accomplishing the following requirements.
    • Submit application
    • Pay the $45 application fee
    • Submit any name change legal documentation
    • Provide a copy of a photo ID
    • Submit verification of Kansas esthetician school of at least 1,000 hours
    • Submit verification of graduation from high school

The theoretical exam will be 2 hours in length and will be computer-based and will test examinees in the following areas:

  • Kansas State Laws, Rules, and Regulations
  • Safety, Sanitation and Infection Control
  • Implements, Tools, and Equipment
  • Anatomy and Physiology
  • Skin Care Services
  • Product Knowledge

During the practical exam, examinees must follow a script designed ti assess their ability to perform the following procedures:

  • Set Up
  • Blood Spill Procedures
  • Facial
  • Facial Mask
  • Manual Extraction
  • Tweezing and Waxing
  • Disinfection and Cleanup

How Much Do Makeup Artists Get Paid in Kansas?

The average makeup artist in Kansas makes $21,160 per year based on data from At a 40-hour work week, that averages out to $10.17 per hour.

Does Kansas Have Continuing Education Requirements for Makeup Artists?

For unlicensed makeup artists there are obviously no continuing education requirements. The same goes for makeup artists with cosmetology or esthetician licenses, though they will need to renew their licenses every two years and pay a renewal fee.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

Kansas Board of Cosmetology
Address: 714 SW Jackson, Jayhawk Walk Building, Suite 100, Topeka, Kansas
Email: [email protected]
Call: 785-296-3155
Fax: 785-296-3002