A hairstylist in Nevada can enjoy many benefits, including a healthy salary, flexible hours, and the opportunity to work in a high-end salon. In addition, Nevada is home to several hair design schools that can help you get started in your career. This site is designed to help you find a hair school near you in Nevada so you can earn a hair design license and start your new career.
These schools offer comprehensive training programs that cover everything from cutting and coloring to hair care and styling. And with a little experience, you can even open your own salon. So if you’re looking for a rewarding career in the beauty industry, consider becoming a hairstylist and signing up for a hair design program today!
Hair Schools in Nevada
State Requirements for Hairstylist Licensing in Nevada
To become a hairstylist in the state of Nevada, you must first complete a training program at an accredited hair school. This can be either a technical school or a community college that offers courses in cosmetology. Most programs will require you to be 18 years old and meet a minimum education requirement like a high school degree. You’ll need to complete 1,000 hours of educational work to finish an accredited program.
Alternatively, you can apply for an apprenticeship at a licensed salon and complete 2,000 hours of work before applying for licensing.
Upon completing your hair design program you can apply to take the three required exams:
- Nevada State Law Test
- Practical Test
- Theory Test
You’ll need to score a 75% or better on all exams to pass, then pay your licensing fees and you can work as a licensed hairstylist in Nevada.
How Much Do Nevada Hair Schools Cost?
In roughly 12 months you can complete a hair design program in Nevada and begin working as a licensed professional. Of course, this comes at a cost. You can expect to pay in the neighborhood of $17,000 to upwards of $22,000 for tuition at an accredited program. It’s important to keep in mind as you research hair schools in Nevada, that tuition fees may not cover additional expenses like books and supplies. So, be sure to ask about that when you evaluate the total cost of a program.
Required Skills and Classes
When you enter a hair design program in Nevada there are two main goals. First, to give you the required skills to serve your clients. Secondly, it’s to give you the knowledge you need to pass the state’s required tests. The total scope of courses covered in your program will depend on the school, but expect to learn about all of the following:
- Client safety
- Infection control and sanitation
- Hair and skin biology
- Hair cutting, styling, coloring, texturing, shampooing, and conditioning
- Scalp care
Some programs also place a strong emphasis on the business side of hair design. If you want to be a salon owner one day, make sure you find a program that will help teach you the basics of running a salon like bookkeeping, marketing, and more.
State Licensing Exam
As mentioned above, there are three exams you’ll need to take in Nevada to become a licensed hairstylist – law, practical, and theory. You’ll need to score 75% or better on each exam to pass. The State Law Test and the theory exam are taken on the same day. The law exam is only 25 questions while the theory exam is longer, and you’ll have two hours to complete it.
The hair design school you attended may offer you a practical exam, if not, you’ll need to schedule your practical exam separately with the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology, and you’ll need to bring a mannequin head, hand, and supplies to demonstrate your skills on that day.
Testing fees will cost you a total of $125.
How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Nevada?
As a hairstylist in Nevada, the average pay per hour was $12.78 per hour or $26,580 annually according to the latest data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics from May 2021.
Does Nevada Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists?
As a hairstylist in Nevada, you’ll have to renew your license every two years or every four years. Regardless of which length you choose, you’ll need to pay a fee of $35 per year. You’ll also need t complete four two hours per year of continuing education credits to renew your license. So that’s four hours for two-year renewals and eight hours for four-year renewals. These credits will help you learn new skills and keep you up to date on the latest safety standards and legal issues hairstylists need to know in Nevada.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
All licensing issues for hair designers in Nevada are handled by the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology. To connect with them, use the contact information below.