Skip to content
Home » Hair Schools Near You » Hair Schools in Kansas

Hair Schools in Kansas

A person may want to become a hairstylist in Kansas for many reasons. The state offers hair schools that can teach the person how to cut, color, and style hair. The benefits of becoming a hairstylist in Kansas may include being able to work in a hair salon, barbershop, or cosmetology school. There are also many opportunities to work freelance. Some hairstylists in Kansas even open their own hair salons. The average salary for a hairstylist in Kansas is $32,850 per year. And the job outlook for stylists in Kansas is good with an expected growth of 13 percent anticipated from 2016 to 2026.

Sound promising to you? Well, if you’d like to explore this career further, we’re here to help. We’ve pulled together a list of some of the best hair schools in Kansas for you to learn the trade. We’ve also pulled together a lot of helpful information so you can learn what it takes to earn your cosmetology license in Kansas.

Hair Schools in Kansas

State Requirements for Hairstylist Licensing in Kansas

To become a hairstylist in Kansas there are a few requirements a candidate must meet. Let’s run them down:

  • Be a minimum of 17 years old with a high school degree or equivalent
  • Finish an accredited program with a minimum of 1,500 hours of classroom time
  • Verified scores showing that you’ve passed the state cosmetology exam – both the practical and written exams
  • Payment of the exam and licensing fees

How Much Do Kansas Hair Schools Cost?

Starting a new career as a hairstylist is not cheap. Hair schools in Kansas will likely run you between $15,000 and $18,000 according to, and that doesn’t even take into account the average cost of books and supplies which will run you close to $3,000.

Required Skills and Classes

Hair schools in Kansas will require you to take a full gamut of cosmetology courses. This means, on top of learning about hair care, product use, shampooing, styling, and cutting, you’ll also take courses covering topics such as:

  • Safety
  • Sanitation
  • Skincare
  • Nail care
  • Facility management
  • Manicures
  • Legal issues
  • Ethics

Be prepared to take in a lot of information when you sign up for a program, as there’s a lot to learn. Classes will cover theory and help provide you with the baseline knowledge you’ll need as a hairstylist and help you as you get into practical courses where you can hone your skills. On top of that, you’ll learn business skills like marketing, accounting, and management to help you operate a business.

State Licensing Exam

You can take the Kansas licensing exam after you’ve completed your coursework and submitted your application. Registration can be done online and you will have to pay a $75 fee for the practical exam and a $75 fee for the written exam. You can take them in any order.

Tests are administrated by National Testing Network, and you’ll need to bring identification the day of the exam that matches your submitted personal information.

The practical exam will cover everything from disinfection and setup to curling, to using relaxers, to waving, to coloring, facials, and manicures, to cleanup.

You’ll have two hours to take the online written exam, which will allow you to go back and adjust answers as you go. The written exam covers Kansas laws and regulations, safety and sanitation, how to use tools and equipment, product knowledge, hair care and services, anatomy and physiology, as well as nail and skincare.

A 75% score is needed to pass both exams. If you score less than 75% on either portion, you will need to take the exam again.

How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Kansas?

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics numbers as of May 2021, a hairstylist in Kansas, on average, made $15.93 per hour or $33,130 annually. an average of $32,850 annually or $15.79 per hour. Those pay numbers ranked 29th nationally.

Does Kansas Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists? 

While continuing education classes are available from many hair schools in Kansas, they are not required to maintain your license. However, you will need to renew your license every two years, which can be done online and comes with a $70 fee.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

For up to date information or questions on licensing for hairstylists and cosmetologists in Kansas, you can direct your inquiries to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology.

Website: Kansas Board of Cosmetology
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (785) 296-3155