A hairstylist in Iowa can enjoy a wide range of benefits. For starters, the state is home to a number of hair design schools that can provide the necessary training and education. In addition, Iowa offers a wide variety of hair salons that cater to a variety of clients. This gives hairstylists the opportunity to gain experience in different types of settings.
Iowa is also home to a large number of hair show events that can provide stylists with exposure to new techniques and products. Another benefit is that the state’s relatively low cost of living makes it an affordable place to live and work. All of these factors combine to make Iowa an excellent choice for those looking to enter the hair design field.
Assuming you’re interested in learning more about attending hair school in Iowa or becoming a hairstylist, you’re in the right place. We’ll provide you with information on the requirements necessary to become a hairstylist in Iowa and also a list of schools in the state where you can enter a program to help you on your way.
Hair Schools in Iowa
What are the state requirements for hairstylists in Iowa?
There are a number of requirements people must meet per the Iowa Board of Cosmetology. Among them:
- Complete 2,100 hours of training at an approved educational provider
- Earn a passing score on the state’s licensure exam
- Be at least 16 years old
- Pay exam ($55) and licensing ($60) fees
How Much Does Hair School Cost in Iowa?
Becoming a hairstylist in Iowa can be a great career, but there will be some upfront costs when it comes to gaining your beauty education. The biggest cost, of course, is tuition. Depending on the program you choose, hair schools in Iowa will typically cost between $14,000 and $25,000 for tuition alone. Once you add in another $2,000 or so for books and supplies, you’ll want to make sure you plan appropriately to pay for everything. Fortunately, many financial programs and aid possibilities are out there for aspiring hairstylists to help cover these costs.
Required Skills and Classes
Iowa’s Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences requires schools to cover certain topics in their curriculum, so you’ll definitely learn about topics such as:
- Shampooing, drying, and styling hair
- Coloring, bleaching, straightening, and relaxing hair
- Proper sterilization and sanitation practices
- Laws specific to cosmetologists
You’ll get a mix of hands-on and theoretical training during your hair school program. Depending on where you attend, some schools may also put more emphasis on the business side of working at or owning a salon. If that’s your ultimate goal, you’ll want to explore programs that go in-depth on those topics, and it may be worth paying more to learn how to market and manage the day to day elements of a business.
State Licensing Exam
Before taking your licensure exam, you’ll need to complete your accredited program and apply to the Iowa Board of Cosmetology. Once approved, you can pay your fee to the exam provider PSI and schedule your exam date.
Iowa uses the National-Interstate Council (NIC) cosmetology exam for its cosmetology students. As an aspiring hairstylist, you’ll need to pass this test with at least a 75% score to earn your license. The exam has two parts:
- Written – 90 minutes
- Practical – 180 minutes
The written exam will test your knowledge of the topics you learn in your program, many of which are listed above. The practical exam requires that you prove you can properly perform a number of techniques as a hairstylist, as well as perform proper client setup, protection, and cleanup.
How Much Do Hairstylists Make in Iowa?
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics numbers as of May 2021, a hairstylist in Iowa makes an average of $32,850 annually or $15.79 per hour. Those numbers rank 31st nationally.
Does Iowa Have Continuing Education Requirements for Hairstylists?
Iowa is a state that does require hairstylists to receive continuing education hours. A licensed provider must provide certification for the hours earned, and stylists will need to complete eight hours minimum for each license renewal period. License renewals take place every two years on April 1st and also come with a $60 renewal fee.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
If you have questions about becoming a licensed hairstylist in Iowa you can contact the Iowa Board of Cosmetology, which manages that subject for the state. Contact information is as follows: