Skip to content
Home » Esthetician Schools Near You » Esthetician Schools in Tennessee

Esthetician Schools in Tennessee

Esthetician schools provide an excellent opportunity to learn from experienced professionals who can teach you the latest techniques and trends in the industry. Tennessee is home to many reputable esthetician schools that can help you get the education you need to start or advance your career in this exciting field.

Whether you’re looking for a full-time program or part-time courses, there’s an esthetician school in Tennessee that can meet your needs. In addition to providing quality instruction, esthetician schools in Tennessee can also help you connect with potential employers and get started on the path to a successful career.

If you’re interested in becoming an esthetician, be sure to research the different esthetician schools in Tennessee to find the one that’s right for you.

State requirements for esthetician licensing in Tennessee

  • At least sixteen (16) years of age.
  • Has completed 2 years in high school or has a score equivalent to thirty-eight percent (38%) or higher on the GED or HiSET.
  • Seven hundred fifty (750) hours of education from an esthetics program approved by the Board.
  • License renewal every two (2) years.

Estimated cost

Tennessee is bursting at the seams when it comes to luxury hotels and spas. By extension, this place also serves as a great jumping point to kick start a career in the beauty and skincare industry. Below is a list showing some programs and their pricing to give you an idea of what to expect.

  • Tennessee School of Beauty (Knoxville) – $15,095
  • Queen City College (Clarksville) – $8,500
  • Franklin Academy (Cleveland) – $10,100

Required skills and classes

Unlike most states, Tennessee has a 750-hour minimum requirement for aspiring estheticians. Below is a breakdown of the training required to obtain the license.

General (150 hours)

  • Sterilization
  • Sanitation
  • Bacteriology
  • Professional Ethics
  • Salesmanship
  • State Law

Chemical (150 hours)

  • Skin Conditions
  • Disorders
  • Nutrition
  • Aging Factors
  • Product Ingredients
  • Waxing
  • Lash and Brow Tinting

Physical (450 hours)

  • Massage Movements and Manipulation
  • Masks and Packs
  • Facial Treatments with Machines
  • Skin Analysis and Consultation
  • Application of all Products
  • Color Psychology
  • Makeup and Corrective Makeup

Out-of-State Reciprocity

Applicants that have acquired their license elsewhere can opt for this route provided they have accumulated at least 750 hours of esthetics education from another state or has 5 years of work experience as an esthetician from the state of origin.

State licensing exam

Students are given three (3) years to take the licensure exam after graduation and must apply for a license after six (6) months of passing both exams. Failure to comply will result in the need to retake the said exams.

PSI will be administering the licensure exams with the following requirements:

  • Registration of a PSI Account.
  • Payment of a $70.00 fee for the Theoretical Exam.
  • Payment of a $70.00 fee for the Practical Exam fee.

Once accomplished, the examinees can proceed with the following exams.

Written Exam

This exam will be composed of 75 questions that must be completed within 90 minutes and will cover the following subjects:

  • Sanitation and Safety (15 questions)
  • Client Consultation and Analysis (8 questions)
  • Basic Facial Treatments (15 questions)
  • Advanced Facial Treatments (15 questions)
  • Hair Removal (7 questions)
  • Facial Makeup (7 questions)
  • Tennessee Licensing (8 questions)

Tennessee Law Exam

This exam is only required under the following conditions:

  • License reactivation and is currently and not over the age of sixty-five (65).
  • The applicant’s license has expired for three (3) or more with plans of reactivation.
  • The applicant is planning on acquiring a license via reciprocity.

Applicants who fall under the aforementioned categories will need to take a test composed of 25 questions within a 40-minute period which consists of the following subjects:

  • Sanitation, Disinfection, and Safety (5 questions)
  • Tennessee Licensing: License Requirements, Renewal, Board Responsibilities, Displaying the License, Salon Owner and Manager Responsibilities, and Change of Address (20 questions)
  • You may use the Tennessee Rules and Laws to study for this exam. You will also need to pass this exam with a score of 70% or higher.

Practical Exam

This exam requires examinees to bring a live model that is at least sixteen (16) years of age, and is not another esthetics student, operator, instructor, or owner. Examinees are also required to bring their own kit and supplies which should compose of, but not limited to the following:

  • Towels
  • Paper Towels
  • Aesthetician Wipes
  • Massage Cream
  • Cleansing Cream
  • Treatment Cream
  • Blood Spill Kit
  • EPA-Registered Disinfectant
  • Gloves
  • Sanitizing Bowl
  • Mock Mask and Wax

Average salary

The average salary for professionals in this field is expected to be around $28,200 per year or $13.56 per hour.

Continuing education requirements

No hours of continued education will be required to renew this license.

Contact information for state licensing boards

Tennessee State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners

Address: 500 James Robertson Parkway Nashville, TN 37243
Email: [email protected]
Call: 615-741-2515
Fax: 615-741-1310