Skip to content
Home » Esthetician Schools Near You » Esthetician Schools in Oregon

Esthetician Schools in Oregon

There are many reasons to choose an esthetician school in Oregon. As a licensed esthetician, you’ll have the opportunity to work in a variety of settings, including salons, spas, and medical offices. You’ll also be able to help people feel their best by providing treatments that improve their skin health.

Each esthetician school in Oregon has its own strengths and weaknesses, so it’s important to do your research before making a decision. We have compiled a list of accredited esthetician schools in Oregon to help you make an informed decision.

State requirements for esthetician licensing in Oregon

  • Students must invest in a five hundred (500) hour esthetician education program.
  • License renewal every two (2) years.

Estimated cost

While the state of Oregon doesn’t require continued education for license renewal, it does have additional alternatives for specializations.

Oregon and more specifically, Portland has experienced an increase in demand for skincare professionals. The schools below showcase some examples of what the state has on offer from a price perspective.

  • Sage School of Massage & Esthetics – $9,775
  • Phagans Central Oregon Beauty College – $6,790

Required skills and classes

A total of 500 hours from a state-approved esthetician training program will be divided into the following:

  • A minimum of 150 hours dedicated to Safety and Infection Control.
  • A minimum of 100 hours dedicated to career development.

The remainder of the 500-hour training program may be distributed among Board-approved esthetician services which include the following:

  • Temporary Hair Removal
  • Cleansing the Face
  • Stimulating the Skin
  • Manipulating and Massaging
  • Exfoliation
  • Makeup Artistry
  • Eyelash Services
  • Facial and Body Wrapping
  • Facial and Body Waxing

For those interested in going beyond the minimum training, Advance Certification is also available. An additional 500-hours will be needed for this course which includes the following:

Theoretical (280 hours in total)

  • Anatomy, physiology, and histology – 25 hours
  • Diseases and disorders – 10 hours
  • Safety, sanitation, and infection control – 5 hours
  • Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules – 5 hours
  • First Aid, Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Blood Borne Pathogens – 8 hours
  • Food and Drug Administration – 2 hours
  • American National Standard for Safe Use of Lasers (ANSI) – 40 hours
  • Technologies – 15 hours that include:
    • Intense pulse light
    • Lasers
    • Plasma
    • Nonablative fractional collagen induction
    • Esthetic radio frequency
    • Esthetic ultrasound
    • Cryolipolysis
    • Microwaves
    • Emerging technologies
  • Light energy hair removal – 25 hours
  • Photorejuvenation and dyschromia reduction – 25 hours
  • Skin rejuvenation – 45 hours
  • Cellulite reduction – 25 hours
  • Body contouring – 25 hours
  • Nonablative tattoo removal – 25 hours

Practical Training (195 hours in total)

  • Light energy hair removal – 25 hours and 20 procedures
  • Photorejuvenation and dyschromia reduction – 30 hours and 20 procedures
  • Skin rejuvenation – 50 hours and 25 procedures
  • Cellulite reduction – 35 hours and 15 procedures
  • Body contouring – 35 hours and 15 procedures
  • Nonablative tattoo removal – 20 hours and 15 procedures

An additional 25 hours can be divided into theory or practical training.

State licensing exam

Before being permitted to take the exams, the following must first be completed:

  • Submission of Examination Application
  • Payment of $35 Oregon Laws and Rules Exam Fee
  • Payment of $35 Esthetics Exam Fee

Oregon Laws and Rules

This exam must be completed within (90) minutes and will cover administrative rules, including the law subject areas such as

  • Definitions (21 questions)
  • Facility Standards (35 questions)
  • Practice Standards (6 questions)
  • Facility Operations (6 questions)
  • Examinations (5 questions)
  • Licensing/Certification (9 questions)
  • Chemicals (8 questions)

Written exam

This exam must be completed within (90) minutes and will cover the following areas such as

  • Chemicals (13 questions)
  • Diseases/Disorders (10 questions)
  • Equipment/Implements (13 questions)
  • General (33 questions)
  • Definition (13 questions)
  • Standards of Practice (18 questions)

Average salary

The average salary is $47,820 per year or $22.99 per hour.

Continuing education requirements

Zero (0) hours for continued education will be required to renew this license.

Contact information for state licensing boards

Health Licensing Office

Address: 1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180, Salem, OR 97301
Email: [email protected]
Call: 503-378-8667