Skip to content
Home » Esthetician Schools Near You » Esthetician Schools in North Dakota

Esthetician Schools in North Dakota

State requirements for esthetician licensing in North Dakota:

  • 600 hours’ worth of combined esthetician education and training.
  • Annual license renewal.

Estimated cost: The average cost for an esthetician education program in ND is $8,066.00 (

Required skills and classes: Students must invest a total of 600 hours of training that can be broken down into the following:

  • Sterilization, Sanitation, and Safety (75 Hours)
  • Body Treatments, Facials, Hair Removal, and Makeup (340 Hours)
  • Study of Theory, Law, and Sanitation (75 Hours)
  • Related Subjects (60 Hours)
  • Unassigned (50 Hours)

State licensing exam: Before the licensure examination, students are required to provide the following to the North Dakota Board:

  • $15.00 Student Registration Fee
  • Copy of Birth Certificate
  • Copy of High School Education
  • Contract
  • Complete List of Tools, Books, and Supplies

Upon successfully graduating from the esthetician program and providing the requirements above, applicants are now eligible to take the licensure exams.

  • Written Exam – PSI Services is in charge of administering this exam. A $70 fee is required before taking the exam which will cover, but is not limited to, the following topics:
    • Skin Glands and Functions
    • Cleansing, Steaming, and Exfoliation procedures
    • Extraction
    • Skin Conditions and Disorders
    • Hair and Growth
    • Hair Removal
    • Makeup Application
    • Skin Care Products
    • Massage and Manipulation
    • Basic Chemistry and Anatomy
  • North Dakota Laws Exam – this is a computer-based, written exam that will cover the rules, and regulations that are directly related to cosmetology and esthetician services.
  • Practical Exam – this exam must be scheduled and taken directly with the North Dakota Board of Cosmetology. The following must be submitted before the examination:
    • Proof of Esthetician Education
    • Practical Exam Fee of $25.00
    • Original License Fee of $25.00

Average salary: According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the average salary for estheticians working in North Dakota is $41,900 per year or $20.15 per hour as of 2021.

Continuing education requirements: No minimum hours of continued education renew this license.

Contact information for state licensing boards:

North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology
Address: 4719 Shelburne St. Suite 1, Bismarck, ND 58503
Email: [email protected]
Call: 701-224-9800
Fax: 701-222-8756