Skip to content
Home » Esthetician Schools Near You » Esthetician Schools in New Jersey

Esthetician Schools in New Jersey

If you’re looking for a good esthetician school in New Jersey, you’ve come to the right place. We have compiled a list of the best schools in the state, so you can find the one that’s right for you. Whether you’re looking for a traditional esthetician program or something more specialized, we have a school that will fit your needs.

State requirements for esthetician licensing in New Jersey:

  • Six hundred (600) of combined coursework and practical training from a state-approved esthetician school.
  • License renewal every 2 years.

Estimated cost

The average cost of an esthetics program within the state is $8,371 according to

Required skills and classes

The 600 hours of training can be grouped into 2 main categories.

Theoretical coursework:

  • New Jersey state cosmetology rules and regulations
  • Decontamination and infection control
  • Professional image, hygiene, and related practices
  • Structure and functions of the skin
  • Anatomy, physiology, and nutrition
  • Chemistry related to skincare
  • Superfluous hair
  • Electricity and machines

Practical training:

  • Facial and body procedures
  • Makeup techniques

State licensing exam

Written Exam

You may visit the PSI website for further details. Examinees can expect the following topics to covered:

    • General concepts
    • Applied anatomy and physiology
    • Skin treatments
    • Hair removal
    • Makeup
    • New Jersey laws and regulations

Practical Exam

The next phase needs to be scheduled by filling out an application form and including the following requirements:

    • Physician’s certification
    • School certification
    • Notarized affidavit

Please keep in mind that a $50 fee for the exam will be required plus an additional $60 for the license via check or money order.

Average salary

The yearly average salary for estheticians in New Jersey is $39,760 or an hourly wage of $19.11.

Continuing education requirements

No continuing education hours are necessary to renew this license.

Contact information for state licensing boards

New Jersey Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling

Address: PO Box 45003 Newark, NJ 07101
Email: [email protected]
Call: 973-504-6400
Fax: 973-504-6477