Skip to content
Home » Cosmetology Schools Near You » Cosmetology Schools in Nebraska

Cosmetology Schools in Nebraska

A career in cosmetology can be both creative and challenging, with opportunities to work in a variety of settings. From day spas and salons to theaters and film sets, cosmetologists use their skills to help people look their best. If you’re interested in pursuing a career in cosmetology, Nebraska is an excellent place to start your education. The state is home to a number of respected cosmetology schools, each offering a unique blend of technical training and hands-on experience. With so many options available, you’re sure to find a school that’s right for you. So take the first step today and find a cosmetology school near you in Nebraska and begin exploring the exciting world of the beauty industry.

Cosmetology Schools in Nebraska

State Requirements for Cosmetology Licensing in Nebraska

To become a licensed cosmetologist in Nebraska, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Complete a cosmetology or cosmetology program at an accredited school
  • Complete and submit a license application and pay the initial $95 fee
  • Pass the licensing exam administered by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
  • Fulfill continuing education hours every renewal cycle – 2 years

The first step to getting a permanent cosmetology license in Nebraska is to complete 2100 hours of coursework from a state-approved school. You must also be 17 years of age and have a high school education or equivalent to sit for the licensing exam.

How Much Do Nebraska Cosmetology Programs Cost?

The cost of tuition will vary depending on which school you choose, but you can expect to pay approximately $16,000 in tuition. Additional charges may include books, supplies, and fees associated with the licensing exam.

To make classes more affordable, schools offer payment plans. You may also qualify for financial aid if you meet specific criteria.

Required Skills and Classes

To be successful in this field, you should have strong people skills and be detail-oriented. You will take courses on topics such:

  • Haircutting
  • Hairstyling
  • Hair coloring
  • Chemical hair treatments
  • Facial treatments
  • Nail care
  • Esthetics
  • Client consultation

State Licensing Exams

The state licensing exam for cosmetologists in Nebraska is administered by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. You will be tested on your knowledge of Nebraska cosmetology laws and regulations, as well as your technical skills.

The two-part exam consists of a written and a jurisprudence exam. Both tests are pass/fail and you need to score 75% or more to pass. PSI conducts the written exam and reports the results to the state licensing body. The written exam is an open book test, has a time limit of 90 minutes, and requires a $53 registration fee.

As of January 1, 2020 – young workers (17-25 years of age), military families, and low-income students qualify for a fee waiver for the written exam.

How Much Do Cosmetologists Get Paid in Nebraska?

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) calculates the average median salary to be $30,100 per year and $14.47 per hour.

There are many opportunities for advancement in this field. With experience, you may move to a supervisory role or start your own business. Some cosmetologists also go on to teach at cosmetology schools.

Does Nebraska Have Continuing Education Requirements for Cosmetologists?

Nebraska requires eight hours of continuing education credits when you renew your license. Licenses last for two years and must be renewed on September 30th of even-numbered years. Processing fees for renewals are $118.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

You can learn more about cosmetology licensing requirements in Nebraska by contacting the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services.

Email: Contact Page
Phone: (402) 471-3121 or (800) 833-7352